We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than Drake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Drake Hotel Toronto
1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Burlington, Ontario
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than Drake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our two night stay surrounding a company holiday party (held in the Drake's Corner Cafe) was bigger, better and shinier than we could have imagined. The warm welcome from Jonathan (hotel manager) and his army of minions who helped us bring all our party supplies and luggage upstairs was fantastic. The little extras in the room like bubbly and cookies and kettle corn assured us that Drake loves us. Comfortable bed, well designed space: our room two oh two was uber-cool.

Now on to our company party: 20 of us in the Corner Cafe for a 1920s themed murder mystery. It was awesome in too many ways. Our event coordinator, Ashley, had everything in line to make it a fun and stress-free night. Our event staff were just rockin' awesome: Mike, Meghan and Sophie put the FUN back in FUNERAL, and our guests enjoyed dying and murdering each other all night long. The food was delicious and the drinks were drinklicious. They didn't even ask us to leave at 10:00pm! Nope, the fun kept going right until closing time and we will most definitely be back next year for our party (and sooner for a fun night or two with Drake).

Thanks again everyone - you definitely all get a 463/10!

Room Tip: Room two oh two is the XL suite and is super awesome if you could use a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    62
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
190
52
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wonderful stay. I saw the hotel on Expedia and and read the reviews. The rooms are very well appointed and very clean. The high ceilings make the room look even bigger. The bathroom is a open concept with frosted glass. I was in Toronto for my first visit. I am a Hotel and resort consultant so my expectations are set quite high. The casual and friendly approach suits this property. Jonathan made my reservation and was there to greet me when i arrived.
Please be aware there is a small paid lot for parking across the street. It is not reserved so best thing is if you get a spot use other transport to get around you may end up without parking when you return. They do have reserved spaces for $25 per night I found out later.

The next morning I was up to have breakfast. My friend was in the room getting ready so i went to the restaurant and was greeted first by Lucile one of the room attendants in the hall. She was very polite and asked how I was enjoying my stay. Nice to see staff interaction.
I travel a great deal for work and stay in may hotels. I was greeted by Krista before I sat for breakfast. She was polite and friendly.
I look forward to staying again someday very soon. I would like to see a loyalty program offered.

Thank you for a great stay! Much needed.
Cheers

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Jay

Such very, very high praise, especially from a fellow Hotelier, and we thank you. I hope you received my email regarding your questions on loyalty. I am looking forward to your next visit, when, hopefully spend some time talking about our respective properties!


X[OH!]


Jonathan (“the taller one with the dark hair”)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I had to relocate from the comfort of our home due to renovations. We chose the Drake specifically for its proximity to my workplace. I'd been to the Drake hotel restaurants and bars but had never stayed there.
The room was super cozy, perhaps even the tiniest we have ever stayed in, but we didn't need extra room. The rest of the hotel was essentially an extension of our domain. The room was for sleep. and remarkably, with live bands/DJs/music playing on three different levels of the hotel every night, within a minute you could go from the bass-thumping dance floor to your room and hear absolutely nothing!
I must say it was the most pleasurable hotel stay I have had. And I shouldn't have to say it but I will...I have stayed at a lot of interesting hotels in many corners of the globe. Most have been wonderful stays. Impeccable customer service most times but it 'felt' like customer service. At the Drake, it's quite unique in that it feels that it's just a friend who is doing something for you. I had a gala dinner to go to, and no shoe polish. Pure panic. Frantic phone call to the front desk and the gang made it happen. It didn't feel like we were at a hotel really. Just felt like you were home at some really cool condo where they have in house bars and restaurants and friends.
'JJ', the manager, a consummate gentleman. Pam, Zoe, Craig, John and Melissa ( and important others) at the front desk. Everyone would go the extra mile, never for an instant making you feel like things might not go your way.
At the bars, you had Stan, Gord, Cameron and of course, Ashley. After a long day at work, it was nice to have good conversation and get some rather good cocktails.
David and Marcus at the door keeping the riffraff out in the evenings. Intimidating at first but gentle at heart.
Kudos to the whole Drake gang. They really have a good thing going. Keep it up! and thank you all for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear SAA1 Toronto,

We all thank you for the review, for staying with us, and for being such an absolute pleasure to have spent three weeks with! We miss you and SS immensely, and look forward to seeing you at brunch soon.

To be honest, we all hope you have more renovations planned for the future, that we may – perhaps – get the opportunity to spend more time with you both.

X[OH!]

JJ, Drake + the entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was booked into the King Eddie for a week - left after first night to come to the Drake - amazing attention to detail from the bed side snacks, to the bathroom cosmetics - super friendly reception - nice bars - there only problem is there is nothing they can do to improve things - a top 100 worldwide hotel

Room Tip: I booked the cheapest and it was amazing, really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
TheGlade,

We all know what (or who) is in the details, so I am thrilled we scored high on your list – we just revamped all of our in room offerings, so I hope you get a chance to come and sample them soon!

X[OH!]


Jonathan + Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The problem that the Drake has is that it believes that being 'the hippest hotel in Toronto' actually means that it's a remotely hip hotel.

Of course it isn't, no more than being the best Rapper in Salt Lake City would get you anywhere in LA or Detroit.

But you see it has the attitude. It has the sneers. The quizzically raised eyebrows? The upward intonation that questions you at every turn.

Calling tiny rooms 'crash pads' is interesting - they're still tiny rooms though.
And your 'sex toy' menu is sweet rather than daring
The noise coming from the 'hot in Toronto' band downstairs is too close
The people in your rooftop bar just too obnoxious (in shooting a tampon ad and believing it's a movie)

Look it's not a bad hotel, but what it really needs to do is relax some. Stop trying so hard. Stop holding in your stomach and sucking in your cheekbones and become something that feels a little less forced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear stevenjude

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am – of course – sorry we didn’t meet your expectations.

We take a great deal of pride not only in our service + offerings, but in our staff and, in particular, our valued guests. Obviously we were surprised by your experience.

Drake offers a wide range of opportunities to suit all of our guests, from our casual café to the upbeat atmosphere of our Lounge and Sky Yard, or the live indie shows in The Underground, we do our best to program experiences for all guests from all walks of life.

Again we appreciate your feedback, and hope to see you again soon!


Jonathan + Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had a fabulous few days in one of the Crash Pads. Everything you could want from a hotel, friendly, relaxed, artistic, entertaining....Jonathan particularly made sure the stay was hassle free.
I will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Peter M.

Insert blushing emoticon here: We are obviously thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and I think you know how much we enjoyed hosting you. I personally miss our morning banter, but look forward to your next visit and some jocular quips!

See you then!


Jonathan + Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked an overnight get away for my bday. We had an amazing time!
Our room was great. Not too small, and with everything we needed ... And such cool furnishings.
The best part was the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we felt welcome. They sent up champagne for my bday, and upgraded our room to a larger suite at no extra cost and left cookies on our pillow. The managers were exceptionally attentive and friendly.
We had dinner in the restaurant - the sushi was exceptionally good, and the service was excellent.
Breakfast in the cafe was also lovely. The blueberry scones were heavenly!
We spent time walking around visiting local galleries and shops...great furniture and clothing shops abound.
All in all, I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
IngridGF

Again – Happy Birthday from all of us. We were so thrilled to host you for your very special day, and it was a pleasure to meet you.

I hope you and WD join us again soon – for yet another birthday?

Welcome to the Family!


Jonathan

PS – Jerry on our team says “Hello”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#12 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.