We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Drake Hotel Toronto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Canadian Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

I can't say enough great things about the Drake. Brilliant use of space, the room is tiny but you almost don't notice because the execution is so perfect. The common spaces are hip, inviting and the staff is helpful and friendly. We were snowed in all day and didn't mind one bit. We spent the day entertained by great staff, food, drinks, movies and stayed warm by the fire in the lounge. There are boutique hotels that are 'cool'. This hotel is far more. It is inspired by the creative art community it is in and is a treat from check in to check out. It is not a business hotel; the stairs are a bit treacherous and the place is hopping til 2am, so if you want quite, easy and spacious, go somewhere else. This place is for those that appreciate the art of living.

  • Liked — Creative hotel, interesting at every corner.
  • Disliked — Front desk could use some extra help.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    66
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
22
203
59
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

My husband is originally from TO and we have stayed at all the typical hotels (King Edward, Hilton, Sheraton Centre) but this was our first time at The Drake. It was fun, hip, edgy and cool. The location is too far from the main stream to walk so a car is necessary. The rooms are uber hip but efficiently small. Saturday night was rockin in The Lounge with a great DJ. There was even the typical velvet rope and lines waiting to get in but we flashed our room card and walked straight in. Good reason to spend a weekend night! Sunday late afternoon/early evening the Skyyard (rooftop) was the place to chill with a mojito, sushi and a more laid back DJ. Lots of locals visit The Drake.
Warning this is not your typical hotel experience, it feels more like staying at your chic friends SoHo/NYC apartment.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

This was a last minute stay, only one night on Carrabana weekend. We heard about this hotel from friends of a friend while sitting over cocktails at Mother's in Buffalo, NY. These folks were so excited about this hotel that they actually had it on "speed dial". After twenty minutes they had my girlfriend and I so excited that I called on the spot and made a reservation.

The Hotel is in an artsy neighborhood, well west of downtown TO. We had drinks in the outdoor cafe while waiting for our room to be readied. To say the neighborhood is "eclectic" is an understatement, but it is fun.

Our room (301) was a "Den" about 185 sq. ft. and it was incredible, what a great use of space! Hard to believe that there is so much in such a small place, the room itself is FUN. The public spaces were great. We had a great dinner in the Dining Room with a wonderful server named Allen (Al) quite a character. While dining they had a Jazz group playing in the lounge which is on the other side of a staircase that goes to the SkyBar. The SkyBar is the happening place in the area, again all kinds of people, all ages.

The employees at this property are outstanding and always willing to help with all your needs. A special thank you to Stephanie the front desk clerk who checked us in and explained everything about the hotel.

While this hotel may not be for everyone, be adventurous, go for it, you will not regret it.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

The room was spacious and clean with a very funky decor. Loved the shower. The people working there were incredibly friendly and helpful. I was worried that the evening entertainment would interrupt our sleep, but you couldn't hear anything once you were in the room. Loved having drinks and sushi upstairs on the deck. The neighborhood is great for window shopping, too! We highly recommend the Drake.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

I was married on the roof of the Drake with the reception in the Underground and it was amazing. The staff is incredible. The artwork and vibe of the place makes the whole experience interesting.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Wow! It was an amazing experience. I stayed for the weekend and the hotel is so retro fun! I loooved it! I had dinner in the dining room and the service was amazing, and the food was incredible. Chef Anthony Rose really had a flare for his cuisine. I ended up staying after dinner and having a few cocktails on the Sky Yard then heading back to my room. The entire staff was so helpful and the building was immaculate. I would recommend this venue as a great place to stay while visiting Toronto. The whole Queen West area is so safe and there is so many interesting shops and cute bars. I can’t wait to visit again!!

  • Liked — The Atmosphere, the service, the food in the dining room and the hotel.
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dog Village
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

I've just got back from staying at the Drake Hotel, Toronto.
This place is so cool with lots of nice touches, (especially the 'Sock Dolls' in each room). Super Trendy roof terrace bar called the 'Sky Yard', and a really nice Cafe on the corner of the hotel. Great location for lots of bars and restaurants. this hotel will appeal to those who are looking for something different than the normal stereotypical chain hotel. We stayed in a 'Crash Pad' room which was so well laid out, you soon forgot that the room was small.
Staff were excellent and will deffinatley return to the 'Drake'.

  • Liked — Roof Top Bar and staying in a very individual hotel.
  • Disliked — No Lift but only 3 floors max.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#11 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.