We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Drake, part deux!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drake Hotel Toronto

Save Saved
You added Drake Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rest and Ride!
Ranked #9 of 142 hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Drake, part deux!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The test of a good, if not great, hotel might be its ability to deliver time and again a memorable, fantastic experience...and here the Drake does not disappoint! We planned a trip in April to celebrate a birthday and secured the suite for the weekend. The largest guest room at the boutique hotel, it was more of the same quirky, charming, eclectic bent as the room we stayed in last time, albeit more spacious and with more nifty touches. Yes, the funny, funky doll with chest hair and bondage gear was there, but so was a big screen TV hooked up to DVD player; a very cool sitting area with daybed/sofa, and original art throughout. Despite being the largest room, it was still compact and made great use of space. Again, like last time, be warned that the Drake is a happenin' joint with music and people bouncing around until the wee hours of the morning...it was loud but it felt right and we had no problems sleeping through the bass thump and waking up in the morning to the smell of coffee and baking. Yum! Speaking of which, the brunch was fantastic and the weather was beautiful so the patio was open and we got to experience good food and people watch all in one sitting! As usual, the staff without exception, were phenomenal and are a huge reason why we came back and will keep going back...warning! pay attention to parking signs on the street...had the misfortune of mis-reading the sign on a friday afternoon and fell asleep/took a nap...woke up at 6pm and the car was gone! Sigh. Off to the impound lot to collect the vehicle and park in the right spot. My bad. The Drake staff heard about it and comiserated with me...even got a free drink at dinner which helped...and they also brought out cake...what a fantastic experience (car being towed aside) and we can't wait to get back there again!!! Highly recommend the Drake for a unique and amazing experience...

Room Tip: Book the suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    60
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
186
51
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Hill, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

The Drake has it all -- a funky sense of style, chic and convivial spaces for dining and lounging, compact and expertly designed rooms, innovative and streamlined furnishings, comfy beds, sleek bathrooms – but the real standout here is the service. The Drake's warm and welcoming vibe is genuine and you feel it the moment you step inside. Not so much as a hint of attitude, just classic hospitality at its best. Don't miss the Sky Deck, especially if you have little ones. You can sink back on the atrium's long banquette or gather round the fire pit and roast marshmallows -- quite a treat for our 10-year-old daughter!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Loved the hotel! Great rooms, and the most thoughtful, friendly service we've encountered in any hotel in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Amazing location in the heart of Toronto, the drake is lively at night and the rooms are innovative. We met a few staff members that were very useful and friendly, others that were pretty rude.

Be careful on what you do at the drake, they will charge you for absolutely everything they can get out of you. We discovering that a misplaced hand lotion was 'worth' 100$. Whatever you think might be included with the room, double check. Everything is hugely overpriced, even for a hotel.

Overall, there are probably better places in the area that won't try to rip you off as bad, and you can always still go party at the drake because it is a fun scene.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_LeClaire, Manager at Drake Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed the Drake, but are very sorry to hear we didn’t get top marks in your books!

While the gift package that was purchased for you (our ‘Art Passport Getaway’) did include great value added items like a complimentary bottle of wine, a dining credit and an original, limited edition art piece, there are many other additional items available for sale in our rooms in true boutique hotel style--from our super-cozy Alpaca throw blankets, to our collection of Malin + Goetz apothecary products, and snacks and drinks from our mini-bar to suit every craving. A full list of all pricing for these amenities is available in each guestroom, but we apologize if this distinction was not made more clear. We are working with our design team to ensure that our amenity price list is prominently displayed, and is not inadvertently causing any confusion for our guests when they make a selection of any item(s) not included in the room/package price.

We do hope you will come and see us again and enjoy Drake’s vibe and scene.

Best,

Jonathan + Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Can't say enough great things about The Drake Hotel. The location is perfect if you are looking to enjoy the cutting edge side of Toronto. The staff is beyond awesome-talk about personable, professional and on-the-money with every single recommendation for restaurants and clubs, as well as shops. Major Kudos to Stephanie, Pam and Madison who consistenly pointed us in the right direction. Jonathan knows how to run a fabulous boutique hotel, and Matthew is beyond compare running the food and beverage side of things (and he knows EVERYONE in Queen's West-don't hesitate to ask him for suggestions if you want to experience the best of meals anywhere in the area).
Don't miss "battle of the chefs" on Monday nights-we were there on Kimchi night and it was too much fun. Get there early for a table-you have never seen a restaurant or club get packed like this on a Monday night.
Yes, I know the rooms are small-very Euro in their styling, but they are well appointed and very functional (and let's face it, the bathrooms are sexy and geared for the exhibitionist in all of us). Love the voodoo-style dolls (hairy man, I wanted to take you home with your leather thong). The beds are comfy, I appreciate the recycling bins, and the pleasure guide is like no other "room service menu" you've ever seen. How can you not love this place?
Because we travel for business quite a bit, we were looking for something other than the typical chain hotel experience, and I found it at The Drake Hotel. I won't stay anywhere else when I'm back in Toronto, because the people who run this "home away from home" are the absolute best!

Room Tip: Call and ask for Jonathan to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

From the phone call when we booked to our breakfast in the cafe the morning we left everything and everyone was great and more than we could have hoped for. The food is amazing, the staff is fantastic, the rooms are really neat and the pleasure menu is very fun and different

Room Tip: Would be a fun place to bring your other half
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

This is the best of the boutique hotels that I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in quite a few. The staff is so nice and made us feel so special. Thanks to Madison, Stephanie and Pam at the desk making sure to never steer us wrong. ,.dinner, lunch whatever we needed.

Thanks to Johnathan and Matthew for making this place such a great experience. I felt like pat of the family there, and they keep the Drake at their best. I cannot wait to come back to visit them again.

Thanks so much,
Rebecca

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Address: 1150 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drake Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.