We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good but not the customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   592 Sherbourne Street, Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L4, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Location is good but not the customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We booked to stay at the Clarion Hotel as it offered a great location with good transport links to downtown and other areas we wanted to visit. After reading reviews and realising that the hotel was partially renovated we did request if we could be put into one of the renovated rooms.

On arrival we were told we would need to play a deposit in case of any damage to the room, this was asked for in cash or by a credit card payment that would be held and released on us checking out. We were surprised by this as it was the first time we had ever encountered it and there was no mention of this in any of the confirmation information we received for our booking. We explained we weren't aware of this deposit and the staff merely offered to cancel our reservation! Which after a long flight is the last thing you want to worry about. After some difficult discussion and the person manning the desk not being helpful we reluctantly paid the deposit.

The rest of the stay was reasonable, the renovated room was nice enough. However after feeling paranoid by having money taken from us in anticipation of damage we scoured the room to photograph any possible 'damage' that could end up being charged to us when it wasn't our fault to act as proof in case there were any issues.

Breakfast was a variety of stodgy items (waffles, toast, bread, boiled eggs) all self served with disposable plates and cutlery. It wasn't gourmet nor horrid, but definitely mundane and felt cheap, after a week I started to have breakfast elsewhere just for variety as it was the exact same items every morning.

On the morning of leaving we had our free wi-fi code abruptly disabled before the 11:00am check out time and a bill pushed under the door before we had even awoken. Very efficient at wanting to get you out the room.

Overall I would suggest if you needed a hotel with a good location for a few days then this will suit you otherwise I would stay clear and try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    131
    101
    32
    42
See reviews for
58
116
46
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I booked online and booked for convenience to downtown but should have been a little more selective. The staff was amazing and seemed genuinely embarassed about the whole situation. Unfortunately they were victims of their environment. The Building is beautiful on the outside and the lobby is so classy looking.... but it's a facade. the narrow, sloping hallways smelled questionable and the room was seriously out of date and had cracked walls and stained carpets. I returned to my room about 9pm and settled in for a nice sleep to get up early for an appointment. At approx 4am I heard a buzzing like an alarm clock and was quick to accuse my travelling companion of setting his cell alarm incorrectly. After making him get up and check we realized it was the fire alarm!!!! I of course went to the lobby to find out what was happening and was told it was a flase alarm but the fire trucks had already shown up. We went outside to smoke as we knew there was no way to get back to sleep. I returned to the room and turned the water on......NO HOT WATER!!!! went to the lobby to check and there was a waterfall coming from the ceiling being caught in a tupperware container!!!! Guess a pipe burst. I went back to my room and immediately took an ice cold shower as I knew it wouldn't be long before the water was turned off completely. As I had guessed, 10 minutes later.... no water at all. No coffee. I ran down the street and got one from a neighbouring business and stopped outside the hotel for a smoke and coffee and an obviously drug induced young man tried to sell us several thousand dollars worth of "stuff". We politely declined and retrieted to our room and locked the door. Upon checkout we were granted several discounts without having to ask for them and wwhile waiting for my companion to manouver our vehicle around the fire trucks that were still there for the water issuue an ambulance arrived and extracted a young girl from the hotel having an overdose....Oh dear, what a terrible experience, but I do have to say that the staff needs a second look by a better place... very graceful handling of an impossible situation, fast professional friendly and they gave really good driving directions.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would like to start by saying I am a manager for Choice Hotels and was completely shocked with the awful customer service I received at this location. Not going into to much detail my brother was shockingly diagnosed with a brain tumour and with in 24 hours of us finding that out, he was about to pass away from surgery complications. I had made a reservation for my father, but he was unable to check in due to unforeseen circumstances that kept him at the hospital that night. I called to speak to a manager the next day to explain the situation and hope for some understanding considering the situation and was met with nothing but rude, unsympathetic staff who refused to pass my message along to the GM and also refused to give me the GM's card or contact information. Bala (a supervisor apparently) actually yelled at me, brining me to tears in the hospital parking lot, that I should not "waste his managers time". I went in 2 days later to speak to management directly and was given the run around again and sent away. After leaving 3 voice messages and going into the property twice I HAVE STILL NOT RECIEVED A CALL FROM ANYONE. This would never fly at my property and it is sad that a hotel like this can give choice such a BAD name!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOHAN592, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Warning! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Personal and vindictive by the same reviewer XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Not related to Hotel XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

From the minute we got inside the customer service was terrible, he looked miserable and did not bother to converse with us. Room service was done regularly but done very poorly. Our bed sheets looked used ( found stains there that wasnt there before) just bed made. Dont leave change or money lying around, they will take it. Worst hotel ive ever stayed in by far. Felt uneasy and uncomfortable sleeping in. Avoid at all cost, doesnt matter how good or cheap it may be.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOHAN592, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Warning! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Personal and vindictive by the same reviewer XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Not related to Hotel XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our first time in Toronto. The website stated that they had a continental breakfast which wasn't that great. We went twice and had toast with pb and j. The website also stated that they had a "state of the art gym" it included one treadmill and two elliptical machines, not very state of the art if you ask me. No one greeted us when we first got there. Our room was on the first level and was small old and dirty. The bed sheets were not clean and had yellow stains on them. We even found a blood stain on the bottom of one of the blankets. We spent about $500 staying at this hotel for almost a week because we were on a budget. I feel like I didn't get what I paid for. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOHAN592, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Warning! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Personal and vindictive by the same reviewer XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Not related to Hotel XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Visit Toronto a weekend in December during heavy snowstorm. The location is not bad (2 min walk from Sherbourne subway station) and just few stations away from the City Centre.

Got a room on the ground floor with re-furbished, large bathroom which is very nice and clean especially the dimming lights. The room is large and bed comfortable, but can only see the wall on the other side of the building through the window. Breakfast is OK but not more.

The neighborhood is very quiet, which contributed to a good sleep. Would definitively return back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote Saint-Luc, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Crappy smelly rooms. Really bad services.
Don't go there. We regretted it.

You have to pay 20$ more for a renovated room.

I asked to talk to a manager they gave me reservation number and of course they couldn't help.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown

Address: 592 Sherbourne Street, Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L4, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites Selby
Clarion Hotel Toronto
Clarion Toronto
Toronto Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.