We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   592 Sherbourne Street, Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L4, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

From the minute we got inside the customer service was terrible, he looked miserable and did not bother to converse with us. Room service was done regularly but done very poorly. Our bed sheets looked used ( found stains there that wasnt there before) just bed made. Dont leave change or money lying around, they will take it. Worst hotel ive ever stayed in by far. Felt uneasy and uncomfortable sleeping in. Avoid at all cost, doesnt matter how good or cheap it may be.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOHAN592, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Warning! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Personal and vindictive by the same reviewer XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Not related to Hotel XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    131
    101
    32
    42
See reviews for
58
116
46
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was our first time in Toronto. The website stated that they had a continental breakfast which wasn't that great. We went twice and had toast with pb and j. The website also stated that they had a "state of the art gym" it included one treadmill and two elliptical machines, not very state of the art if you ask me. No one greeted us when we first got there. Our room was on the first level and was small old and dirty. The bed sheets were not clean and had yellow stains on them. We even found a blood stain on the bottom of one of the blankets. We spent about $500 staying at this hotel for almost a week because we were on a budget. I feel like I didn't get what I paid for. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOHAN592, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Warning! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Personal and vindictive by the same reviewer XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Not related to Hotel XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Visit Toronto a weekend in December during heavy snowstorm. The location is not bad (2 min walk from Sherbourne subway station) and just few stations away from the City Centre.

Got a room on the ground floor with re-furbished, large bathroom which is very nice and clean especially the dimming lights. The room is large and bed comfortable, but can only see the wall on the other side of the building through the window. Breakfast is OK but not more.

The neighborhood is very quiet, which contributed to a good sleep. Would definitively return back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cote Saint-Luc, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Crappy smelly rooms. Really bad services.
Don't go there. We regretted it.

You have to pay 20$ more for a renovated room.

I asked to talk to a manager they gave me reservation number and of course they couldn't help.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The bad experience begins on the broken outside steps .Inside the carpets are dirty.The place smells,woodwork dirty. The bathroom toilet and sink dirty. The duvet cover supposed to be white..dirty grey. Woke up at three am..itchy bites all over.Are there no regulations in this city???

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOHAN592, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Warning! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Personal and vindictive by the same reviewer XXXXXXXXXXXXXX Not related to Hotel XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We needed a room just to sleep in for one night, last week in Toronto, after going to the Ballet. Attracted by the very good price, we decided to take the plunge into this 19th century villa, with a large three storey addition in the back. Our smallish room was on the third floor of the addition, to which we took the stairs, so I have no idea about the creaky elevator other visitors are complaining about. Walk up, people! Very clean white linens, good carpeting, super modern small bathroom (except for no towel racks, so I don't know what we would have done with our towels if we had staid longer) with excellent "rain" shower, as well as a hand-held one. Hair dryer and coffee maker. We don't drink coffee, so I had to ask for some extra tea bags, which were immediately supplied (there were 2 to begin with). Parking for $17 right in front. We slept well, and were extremely pleasantly surprised by the (included) breakfast in the dining room or sun room. We should have taken the sun room, for the TV was on in the dining room, but we saw it too late. Waffles, toast, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, eggs, tea, coffee, milk, and juice. My husband, wanting to read in peace while I enjoyed an old movie, went to read downstairs in the reception room, but found it a bit smelly. I can recommend this hotel for its price, location (across from Sherbourne subway on the East-West line), friendly service. It's a decent 2 1/2 star, like in France. I would not stay here with children, who are much happier in a motel with a pool, however small. Obviously this is not the Sheraton, but it doesn't pretend to be either. For a couple or single person whose aim is shopping, museums, theatre, seeing friends, in other words, only for a good night's sleep, this hotel is perfectly adequate. This villa housed Ernest and Hadley Hemingway, when he was working for a Toronto paper! Their rooms are in the old part, and probably more expensive. We did not see them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor on the outside in the addition. Perhaps the large rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Even the neighborhood is not the best, the hotel is almost in front of a subway station (Sherbourne) , and three blocks from Yonge and Bloor. This is a basic but confortable places. If it is possible, ask for modern rooms. We did not have that option since the hotel Was full and had to get rooms in the basement. Avoid room 119, there are some "accidents" on the ceiling. Room 118 is bigger and room 109 is better preserved.
The hotel needs manteinance. Elevator is old and it is not possible to keep the door open.
Breakfast is ok: boiled eggs, waffles, bread, coffee, fruits, juices.
There are different kind of People in the staff. Sree and German are very helpful, but others are not.
During the first day We spend there, our room was not done, and my parents' was not complete. We had to ask for soap and towels.
Definitely, there are details that could be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown

Address: 592 Sherbourne Street, Toronto, Ontario M4X 1L4, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites Selby
Clarion Hotel Toronto
Clarion Toronto
Toronto Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Suites Selby Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.