We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Home Made Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Como en Casa

Como en Casa
565 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M4Y1Z2, Canada
6477486666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #457 of 6,796 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Home Made Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Love this place. Small menu, but everything is made fresh every day. Owners are very friendly, and if you are a regular you are greeted like an old friend. I used to live around the corner and went there regularly before moving. I love my Mexican cuisine and this is the real deal - no "Tex Mex" nonsense here.

Rather than trying to review it all, you go and give it a try. Don't forget to try their homemade salsa (which you can buy at the store!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The owners of this place are Mexican (that's a plus) so they have the right idea when it comes to authentic Mexican food, the problem is translating this idea into dishes offered to costumers that also have a high quality standard. We tried the taco combo, we got corn tortillas for our tacos, a side of beans and a side of rice. Everything looked good, but when we tried the food, the taste just was not there. The filling we chose for our tacos (chicken and beef) was insipid, and I do not know why they put cheese on our beef tacos. The rice was dry and flavourless, the beans were decent but tasted like the ones you get from a can.

I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“its not pretty but the food is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

...and it keeps getting better. great fish taco combo plate. real fresh food fast. short on ambience but really, its fast great mexican food at yonge and wellesley. what more do you want? great friendly service. go there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Corn tortillas? Yes! Great little Mexican place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Run by a few great guys, I can't believe there is only one review for this place. The meal was very authentic and tasty. Loved that they let me get three different types of tacos. I'll definitely be back, but with my tums next time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Muy bueno!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Been here several times, and I would not hesitate to recommend this place. They have generous portions, and more importantly, the food is tasty and delicious. Love their fish tacos and guac. My goal is to try everything in their menu at least once. Churros are inconsistent though, sometimes good sometimes not so much. I'm glad they opened near where I live. So if you're walking around Wellesley and start feeling hungry, hoof on over to Como en Casa. Make your tummy happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Como en Casa also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Como en Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Como en Casa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.