We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meeting place to chat with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kennedy Public House

The Kennedy Public House
2199 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,859 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Toronto
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great meeting place to chat with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place had great ambience when I arrived for a midweek dinner with friends. Yes, it's loud and the additional noise from the open patio just adds to the buzz. Service is casual and polite and food wasn't a long wait, which is great if you are chatting it up. The 2for1 pizza was great value for money with several tasty choices that were not run-of-the-mill. (Pulled-pork pizza anyone?!) My other friend ordered the steak with excellent reviews. Apparently there is live music on some nights in the corner of the restaurant facing the street and the washrooms are very unique--a spacious, common sink area for washing hands and large, unisex toilet stalls. Very hip. I want to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    5
    4
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice patio!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great location in Bloor West Village! The patio is a good size and the happy hour appetizers were a hit. We ordered the calamari was plump and lightly breaded and the natchos would have been better with more cheese. Our waitress appeared to prefer to be anywhere than with us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice place to meet up with friends after work for dinner and drinks. Overall the food was good, and nice selection of specials drinks. Make sure to check out the specials that evening.

Serve was nice, but was slightly disengaged which isn't totally bad if you are there to chat and hang out with friends for a while.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Looks better from the outside.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great patio but the food was just okay. The servers are very casual but friendly. My pulled pork was in need of salt but other than that it was fine. The place is too noisy and didn't allow for our group to talk to eachother without yelling across the table.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I am surprised that I haven't already reviewed this restaurant and even more surprised to find that no other Tripadvisor had yet reviewed it. After all, it is well into its second year and going by the crowds, very successful. I can only assume that all of us have been only too mindful of the two or three previous restaurants that took up this space, all of them alarmingly inconsistent and tending to be very disappointing, with obnoxious servers.

The Kennedy Public House is very consistent and has never been disappointing... and service has been friendly, efficient, without attitude. I base this on several dinners and a few brunch visits. Ever thrifty, wife and I take advantage of the weekday happy hour specials--half-price appetizers, 2for1 pizzas, that sort of thing--and we always come away happy. We enjoy the range of patrons, from family groups that tend to show up for the 2for1 pizza nights to the trendier crowd who show up for the musical entertainment laid on for brunch and late evening. Food is always excellent, with quality ingredients selected and prepared with obvious care to detail, and offered at very fair prices.

Inside can get a bit loud but there is a large, west-facing patio that invites now that warmer weather has arrived.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kennedy Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Kennedy Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kennedy Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.