We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vita Sociale

Vita Sociale
2472 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4P 2F5, Canada
+1 416-483-2211
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vita Sociale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,402 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Erskine and Castlefield
Transit: Just north of the Eglinton Subway Station
Description: VITA SOCIALE is a fun and approachable neighbourhood restaurant. We are open for lunch and dinner, 7 days/week! Our recipe for success includes great servers, good people and an incredibly talented culinary team.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food and service, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We dined here with a family group, after the restaurant we originally booked was unexpectedly closed. It worked out quite well.

The space that was formerly Centro has downscaled and now concentrates primarily on pasta and pizza. Compared to other restaurants in the same general area offering comparable menus, the pricing was on the high side. That said, the food was quite good and the service was excellent. The room, while now more rustic, is still quite grand.

The "Centro" pizza was delicious as were the Beef Carpaccio and the spaghetti with meatballs.

Certainly not the best Italian resto in Toronto, nor the cheapest, but if you're in this area it's a nice choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    29
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Waste of time and Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went there for dinner with the wife because we live in the area and she loves trying new restaurants. It was terrible. Why would one want to spend so much for not so good food. There are so many better restaurants in the area that are so much tastier and half the price. The food was bland and the wait staff seemed uninspired. Please, do yourself a favor and avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Open Doors/Windows Big Plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Food is average, but very good, and prepared with attention. Scallops and and Branzzino were very good. Wine selection is good, but better wines pverpriced. Service was great and the greeters at entrance personable. Atmosphere is good although it became too noisy later in the evening. Big plus, in my view, is that the entire wall on Younge street can be opened to all what's going on there. It's like seating on the patio.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We live in the area and have been looking forward to trying out the restaurant, don't waste your time! Even after reading the bad reviews on here we were still interested in going - big mistake! Food is average, not terrible. Caesar salad had so much garlic in it my mouth felt like it was burning! pizzas were ok, nowhere near as good as grazie or balsamico on yonge. Manager had such an attitude, far to big for his boots, acting like we were doing him a favor coming to the restaurant! They sneakily overcharged us for the wine, they didn't even check the bill when I bought it to their attention as they must have known they did this. I also saw 2 more tables in the restaurant send their bills back to be corrected. What a scam! The place was full, maybe everyone (like we did) needed to see how bad this place is for themselves to know to never come back! AVOID!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“New name, but the food is still awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This restaurant, on the same location as the old Centro, has reopened with a new name. Sadly, the dining experience has not improved with the renovations. The food remains quite mediocre. I had the risotto appetizer which consisted of hard, tasteless rice. The steak main was a fatty and barely edible. The Mascarpone Cheesecake was a cheesecake in name only, and had little resemblance to any cheesecake. The latté was served only warm. All in all, it was a sad meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vita Sociale also viewed

 

Been to Vita Sociale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vita Sociale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.