We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous chocolate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soma Chocolate

Soma Chocolate
32 Tank House Lane, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here while visiting the Distillery District on vacation. The chocolate is all wonderful! We had a chocolate shot as well as chocolate gelato. I bought chocolate bars and drinking chocolate to take home and wish they could ship to the states. It was interesting to see their chocolate processing, and the staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We invested in a $3 bag to keep our goodies from melting in the car.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    26
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“OMG!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Really expensive but totally worth it! They have drinkable hot chocolate which is pure chocolate (you can have it mixed with milk too) Heavenly! Everything I had was incredible. Something for everyone who loves chocolate!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful hot chocolate, unique selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hot chocolate to die for. Terrific variety of milk and dark chocolates with unique fruit & nut toppings

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've visited both locations in Toronto (the Distillery and King St W) and they're both great! We stopped in for some Mexican hot chocolate on a cold winter day and it was sooo good!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I must say i had higher expectations going to Soma chocolate. The chocolate is good but not great, and here i am comparing with my favorites (neuhaus, godiva and even some of lindt premium chocolates, as well as other french or swiss smaller chocolate brands). The flavours are not strong enough. Definitely the value for money is very low, it is extremely expensive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soma Chocolate also viewed

 

Been to Soma Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soma Chocolate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.