We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fun.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marche

Marche
181 Bay Street | Unit 107S, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(647) 977-6391
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #924 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always fun.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went for breakfast on a recent trip into Toronto. The Marche is always fun to walk around and select your own food and/or watch it be prepared. There muffins are always a wonderful treat.
Great place to take kids - as they don't have to wait.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pricey and not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I came here to pick up a salad from the salad bar and some rosti with sour cream. I would say that the whole place has deteriorated from a year go. First, the salad was very limited in variety, everything was over baked/over cooked. The couscous tastes like grain with water poured on it. The rosti was good. I have eaten other entrees here in the last few months and really there is nothing that would really stand out. The items that are cooked. Either management doesn't care about all the negative comments that I have read before - or nobody is reading these comments! Would love for you to get back to your old standards.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great place for a Saturday brunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Great place to go for Saturday brunch. They give you a card and then you go to the various food stations where they have people to serve you. They have a large selection to choose from. Their mixed strawberry, orange & banana drink is awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Found the food very salty! Had to wait for 10 minutes from the time the steak was cooked until the potatoes were ready. Was not impressed that as we were leaving, a 12% "restaurant service charge" was added at the till. I went back to the table and retrieved the tip I had left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quirky concept eatery with serious indentity-crisis. Stressful experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's not a buffet, although as you walk around, you almost wish it was so you could try different options. It's not a cafeteria, although you walk around with a wooden tray picking up food. There are no servers, and when you want something you walk around trying to find someone to point you in the right direction. You walk around to find a place to sit, in a half dozen or so different types of rooms, where you turn a card over on a table to show the table is taken/reserved. You walk around, a LOT.

So you live in Toronto, and you go to the Marche everyday; that's great. You understand every little quirky thing about this place and find it endearing. For the traveler, it's awful.

When you arrive they give each person a card similar to a credit card, with the threat that if you lose the card you will be charged $100. Yes, you read it right, you are threatened as you walk in. The 'concept' is that you can walk around (there we go walking around again), to pick up what you want and they charge it to your card as a running total, but if you lose it, then you become a criminal and will be heavily fined. Even with children, they also get their own card with the same threat. 'Welcome to our strange concept eatery, although you have only one digit in your age, we want you to be treated the same as adults, so if you lose this card, you will owe us lots and lots of money'. At that point, why not just put the card on a necklace so you don't lose it, or attach it to a hubcap for safe keeping? You are constantly checking to make sure that you still have the little card, and so does your youngster (who misplaces their $250 i-pod everywhere). In the end you hand in the card and as long as it hasn't been misplaced or malfunctioned (which you will also get fined $100 for), then you can pay with a gratuity added for your benefit. A buffet where you are forced to tip. Wait, it's not a buffet, it's a cafeteria. No, wrong again, it's a food court. Whatever it is that you want to call it, you can be sure of this: It is Quirky. They definitely have a serious identity crisis. It is stressful to figure out and the people behind the counters, are NOT friendly. If you really want to see how unfriendly they can be, ask your 9 year old to tell them that they want spaghetti. "We don't have that, what you see is what you get, NEXT!"

The friend we were with had been there before and is all about urban living in Toronto - it is a lifestyle that is great for some, not for others. I gave up on walking around and went with (I'll just have what he's having).

Luckily, no cards were lost or malfunctioned and we were not sanctioned by the Marche Police. The 9 year old followed the instructions on the menu and did not touch any of the items that were prohibited to her. Yes, I just said prohibited. Read the kids menu to see for yourself. Don't be fooled by their website that actually has a section for picky eating kids. The food was equivalent to cafeteria food, so average at best. A Caesar Salad with a chunk of greasy (size of a golf ball) bacon bits stuck together is gross (no fancy explanation there).

The food is healthy-ish. It is expensive. It is not great. It is not fun. There are so many cool places in Toronto that you should avoid this one as much as possible. If you have children, don't even try. If you love really quirky stuff, then enjoy this concept, but for the traveler, move on to the next place. Actually, the street hot dog vendors in Toronto are better than anywhere else in North America, try that instead (no fines will be levied, I promise!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche also viewed

 

Been to Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.