We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burgers, fun presentational touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Works Gourmet Burger Bistro

The Works Gourmet Burger Bistro
60 Wellington st E, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,521 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good burgers, fun presentational touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

As a big burger fan, and wanting to try poutine for the first time, we settled on The Works which was in walking distance of our accommodation.

The service at this location was excellent (quite busy Friday evening). The choice of burgers was endless, ingredients were clearly fresh. The touches mentioned in the title were fun, but not too distracting (the water glasses, salt shakers...).

The reason I didn't give a 5 was not really the fault of this joint. I like burgers medium, but regulation or policy only allowed medium well to well, and the egg was all fully cooked (ie no lovely runniness) It still got a 4 though, because even with this none preferred preparation, the food was delicious.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“THE best burger EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The BEST burger I have ever had the pleasure of devouring. Soooo many options and the regional references for each adds to the home grown authentic flavor. Highly recommend the ground Elk. What a neat and tasty option.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you like burgers, this is the place for you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Works does burgers and they do it well. An extensive menu where you start with your preferred type of burger (beef, turkey, veggie, etc.) then choose a style. I ended up here two nights in a row, choosing different styles each time. It was delicious! You can easily substitute anything in the description as they make it up fresh. The wait staff was friendly and helpful. The milkshakes were tasty, too. It's very reasonably priced for what you get. I was looking for a simple place with table service, not too fancy, but not like a fast-food joint. This was perfect for that! I would highly recommend this place to any Toronto visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I love it when a franchise has a lot of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I didn't realise that this was a franchise when I ate here (I'm not from Toronto) and I really enjoyed the quirky touches of the place: food served in a tray (no plate), drink served in a pyrex jug. (And I loved the fact that kids got a mini-jug.) The staff were really friendly and helped explain the excessively long menu (yes, I mean that I think it's too long). The burger itself was good (I had some kind of venison I think, it was an extra lean meat of some sort) but not fantastic, maybe I needed a bit more explaining. I'll go back though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
704 reviews 704 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Good burgers - to go or dine in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Works is unique in that it has a full service dining area (not fancy but perfect for a quick bite) or a self contained take-out counter. I grabbed the "La Ultimate Flamme" burger to go with fries and thoroughly enjoyed eating it at my desk. The burgers come in two sizes - 4 ounce and "works size" about 8 ounces. Oddly, rather than one large patty the works size had two of the smaller ones. While it made it somewhat awkward to eat the meat was most flavourful. The gouda cheese, bacon and avocado slices were perfect accompaniments. The fries were also excellent - not your crappy frozen type - these were freshly cut, thick and delicious.

The Works is worth a stop and try to grab a table up top when the weather is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Works Gourmet Burger Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Works Gourmet Burger Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Works Gourmet Burger Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.