We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience in the downtown core” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Station

Richmond Station
1 Richmond St. West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 3W4, Canada
+1 647-748-1444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Richmond Station is a stopping place, a bustling neighbourhood restaurant in the downtown core. We are committed to delicious food and excellent hospitality.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great ambience in the downtown core”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Loved the wine/food pairings here and the contemporary decor. Service was excellent and wait staff was extremely knowledgeable, fun and friendly. We tried the tasting menu and the lobster appetizers, fried polenta and desserts were divine. Not so crazy about the pork platter - very tasty but a bit heavy for my taste.

Look for the entrance as it is somewhat hidden away behind the Sunset Grill on Richmond Street. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    128
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN TORONTO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I have been to Richmond Station numerous times and have never been disappointed. The menu has a variety of items for everyone's tastes including vegetarian. The burger is a must try. The staff are extremely friendly, service is spectacular and you leave wanting to go back soon! We have gone there with 2 people and 12 people and you receive the same attention to detail, service and food quality. Try having Chef Carl Heinrich feed you instead of ordering from the menu!!! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Little gem in the concrete jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We like going here after work and before heading out to an event. What a cute place with a very simple menu done well. We really enjoy everything they serve - I particularly like the pastas. The service and atmosphere make this a perfect station for hanging out in.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing new spot downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Richmond Station did not disipoint. I took my wife for her brithday as we are both Top Chef Canada fans and when we found out Chef Carl was opening his own place in the downtown core we were very excited. Chef Carl was even cooking behind the line cooking! Nice layout with open kitchen. Bar area upfront looks cozy but would be great to grab drinks. Love the chalkboard menu! This is a must try place (and try again and again).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely lived up to the hype.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went into Richmond Station with a friend, knowing the pedigree that Chef Carl had earned for himself and did not disappoint. Firstly, I thought the menu was a perfect size. Menus arent about giving 200 choices, they are about giving the chef a chance to perfect dishes, work with seasonal ingredients and specials are designed to run out, thats why they are special.

We were lucky enough to sit at the chefs table, which views right into the kitchen to watch the action happen. Awesome, the chefs were very professional, respectful and interacted with us when they had time. We chose the chefs tasting and loved every bite. First course was oysters on the half shell, perfectly shucked, with a selection of mignonette and hot sauces. Always a great starter. Second was a selection of the house charcuterie accompanied with house made mustards, pickled onions and beet relish. This is a MUST have, especially the pork heart terrine (mind blowing). Third course was a duo of salads, One beet and one largely pork based. Best beet salad I have had, no question, and I have had many. The pork based one was to be used in competition I was informed so I dare not divulge any details. Just know whoever is competing against it, good luck.... Fourth course was a duelling beef dish (One strip loin and one braised shank) served with brown butter hollandaise and glazed veggies. Phenomenal technique everything cooked perfectly, all veg crisp but tender. Pommes Kennedy you just need to try for yourself. Once again one of the best beef dishes I have had and Ive had many.... Finally, dessert, Im not much of a sweets person but the lemon posset is the best finish to a bit of a fattier dinner ever. Also the carrot cake was awesome. It was all awesome. Great food, great service (probably communicated with 20 different staff members at some point during the evening) and I dont think you could find a downtown restaurant with the same value for quality anywhere.... Im sure this restaurant will be around for a long long time, I think I may go back again this week.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Station also viewed

 

Been to Richmond Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.