We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ramen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sansotei Ramen

Sansotei Ramen
179 Dundas St. West, Toronto, Ontario M5G1Z8, Canada
647-476-3833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Ramen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We are from DC so rarely do we get good ramen and our expectations generally are not that high. We ordered the Tonkatsu and Tonkatsu Black, both of which were very good. The only difference is that the black seemed to add a smoky flavor which the gf loved. The broth (most important part) was pretty good and the ingredients tasted fresh. We went at 1730 on a thursday and there was a line but it went very quickly since they sit people at communal tables. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tasty black garlic oil soup base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The soup bases of black garlic oil and miso are soup good. However, the noodle itself was just average.
We wanted to order Sapporo beer but they only have Asahi black beer, which is kind of disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best ramen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've already eaten famous ramen in Sao Paulo (Sao Paulo has the biggest asian community in Brazil), but I can say Sansotei's is the best ramen I've ever had. My husband and I spent only 3 days in Toronto and entered the restaurant without knowing it, but we liked it so much that returned on our last dinner in the city (we were afraid of going somewhere else and regret it). Tasty ramen, attentive waiters ! Mouthwatering while writing this review, wish I was there right now!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All around fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you want basic, traditional, high quality ramen then this is your place. The restaurants themselves are nicely done with basic design and are comfortable. I regularly frequent both the Dundas and Yonge street locations and they are very consistent in all aspects. The service is typical Japanese, very polite, friendly, and prompt. You're greeted by the entire staff upon arrival and thanked on departure. The menu if very clean and limited because the focus is on traditional ramen.

I typically order the spicy tan tan ramen bowl, gyoza, and chahan fried rice. All are great. The spicy ramen is utterly fantastic. The broth is rich and robust. It has a very refined taste to it. You can tell it has been simmered for a long period of time. The added spiciness is to a perfect level. The noodles appear to be house made. I typically get the thick noodle option. They offer a fantastic chew and feel more substantial than the thin noodles. The toppings are traditional and excellent as well. The soft boiled egg is always perfectly done. The charshu pork is always tender and the ground pork that settles allows for you to have some bites of meat remaining as you finish the bowl of broth.

The gyoza are very good. Never dry but not too greasy either. The chahan fried rice is also really good. Shreds of meat throughout and a bit of a peppery after bite lingers throughout the bowl. I only wish the portion of rice were a little bigger, although I realize it is sold as a side.

The prices are very reasonable and compared to similarly sized meals across the city, it may be a bit of a bargain. Sure, you're not exactly eating a meat entrée and it is mainly noodles, but considering what pasta prices are like in the city it's more than comparable.

The only thing I would consider as a negative is their use of plastic glasses for water. They accumulate a funky smell over time and make drinking the water a little unpleasant. Apart from that, nearly every ramen place in the city should take a page from Sansotei in order to learn what quality ramen is all about. Sansotei puts "five star" Momofuku's ramen to shame.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Ramen in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I am so happy that finally Toronto have a legit ramen place. Sansotei have the thick milky soup base, no msg added, the noodles are real white noodles (not the yellowish egg noodles). This is the type of noodle you will have in most ramen places in Japan. The place is small, but don't scare by the line up outside, the turn over is quick. Tonkustu, and spicy tonkustu is always my favorite. With the opening of Sensotei, i can save my drive to NYC.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansotei Ramen also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Sansotei Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansotei Ramen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.