We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf & Firkin

Wolf & Firkin
43 Elm Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 1H1 , Canada
(416) 971-6264
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,785 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am literally shocked at the reviews for this place, intact I am starting to doubt that we are even talking about the same place! The staff was absolutely amazing, so attentive. We went in around 9pm for a late dinner and chose our own seats. Someone came with menu's very quickly and showed us the drink menu. We actually had two of the guys serve us/ check up on us. The food was absolutely amazing. We had the Turkey Club and Chicken Cider dishes. The fries were probably some of the best I've tasted, and the chicken was cooked to perfection. For dessert we had the Toffee Pudding and I wanted to get 4 more to go. I thought that the decor and atmosphere were very nice and typical of a pub. If you want a casual pub with good drinks and good food then go here. Honestly, I can't imagine anyone having a negative thing to say about this place unless they have outrageous expectations of a pub/ pub food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“British standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having had a couple of really nice meals in Toronto I was beginning to think that this would be a Canadian version of a UK pub. Unfortunately this place was really a Firkin pub, like you'd find in the UK. The person taking our order was fine. The person delivering the food verged on rude. The food was no better than I'd expect in a two-for-one meal pub in the UK, in other words, not good. Given the wealth of choice, unless you are pining for a bit of low-standard British food, avoid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shueyville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice, friendly place with a neighborhood bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent four days at the Eaton Chelsea in Toronto last week and spent every evening at the Wolf and Firkin, which is right across the street, during our stay. We didn't eat there, but they have a good selection of beer, and the staff and local regulars couldn't have been friendlier. We felt right at home before we'd finished our first beers. It also has a fun open mic/jam on Tuesday nights hosted by Augy G, who's a first rate musician and entertainer, and an all around great guy. There's a nice group of singer/musicians who attend regularly, and I had a blast jamming with all of them. If you're looking for a laid back, casual place in the neighborhood, the Wolf and Firkin is well worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sitting in the warm sun on the patio was very pleasant. I know this is where the smokers go but it is too bad there is not separate sections so the non-smokers can enjoy the outdoors too.
Food was quite good, service was average. After being to England, I can see how this is very much like an pub found there.
Note: quite a hike to the bathrooms from the patio - upstairs and then downstairs - heels may be an issue for some women

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Standard English Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Located just near our hotel we were able to get a quick but satisfactory dinner with a minimum of fuss.

English meals seemed to be the staple with hamburgers, fish and chips, bangers and Mash etc.
we had the fish and chips which were quite satisfactory, and the bacon hamburger which was large. Both meals were accompanied by the ever presents chips/ fries.

Serve was friendly and prompt.

Clearly this is a chain style hotel with an "English" outlook.
Serves well for a quick and relatively wholesome dinner .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf & Firkin also viewed

 

Been to Wolf & Firkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf & Firkin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.