We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure What Others Here are Talking about” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mina's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mina's Guesthouse
Save
You added Mina's Guesthouse to your Saves list
246 Sherbourne | Sherbourne and Dundas, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2S1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Sure What Others Here are Talking about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just about walked out after walking in and seeing our room. The place is very run down, and at first glance, appears to be the kind of place that might have insects or vermin. After checking a bit more thoroughly we decided to try it for one night and see how it went.
Well, the place IS clean and the other guests ARE quiet - with the exception of one pair who had quite a group take over the kitchen one night. There were no bugs or anything such, and seeing as how we had no intention of doing much more than sleeping, we decided to stay. Also decided to forego use of the kitchen because I don't know who says it is clean, but obviously standards differ because I wouldn't call it clean for a personal residence, let alone a paid accommodation although we did see a woman there cleaning at least twice during our week long stay. I think she was in daily, or every second day.
We were in a basement room and everytime someone ran water on the street level floor, it sounded like it was running right in the room. Same with footsteps. In fact, sawdust or something fell from the ceiling onto the dresser daily. Very poorly done repairs, evident they are trying to save a buck everywhere they can, such as piecing together trim rather than using one continuous piece. Cover missing on an outlet right at the head of the bed. I'll post a few pics of some of the worse, so you aren't under any delusions like I was when I booked. Kitchen supplies were very tired looking for the most part. Perhaps garage sale items?
In spite of all this, if you are looking for a bare bones place to sleep, where you can heat up simple meals, this fits the bill. Beds were comfortable and bedding was clean. Security system was excellent,which is good because the neighbourhood is very colourful and varied; hookers, druggies, also yuppy types and students. Appears to be kitty corner to church with an outreach program, so it really attracts interesting types.
Public transportation is right outside and runs very frequently, close enough to down town to walk, convenience store directly across the street. NOT a place for families or single young women if you will be outside after dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Manager at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi

We appreciate your honest review on our guest house.there are couple points I would like you to consider when you are writing reveiw. First of all we have shelter around corner and poors come there to get meal,next time around if you are coming Toronto make sure you remind us to destroy it so you would not see poor and homeless. Second this poor may ask you for money or smoke but never attend to hold you u so area is niether most prestij nor dangerous, to just remind you this house has been guesthouse for past 25 years, third did you see any thing happend to any one while you were here or if you we're out midnight and you got disturbed by some one? also you forgot to mention how much you have paid for your stay in downtown Toronto.
Room 10 is our cheapest room in the house which goes for $855/ month and please add this to your review and as tip next time if you want to get a first class room just increase your budget to $250/ night and stay in Crawn Hotel around the corner of Jarvis and Dundas which is three minut walk to our guesthouse. Just let you know with money you spent you could not even stay in back packer share room with 4 others for $40/night. I saw your profile and you travel all the time and you sure know how quality and price works before you make review and make commend like that tell others what kind of service did you get for the money you paid then you know what other reviewers talking about.
I hope next time you are here in Toronto you come and check out our other rooms and hopefully they will be more satisfying to you!
Our business depends on our guest satisfaction and we are trying in any way to earn it.
Our warmest regards on behalf of Mina's Guesthouse staff

Management
Arya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
3
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at Mina's for 2 weeks; would stay there again; good value for money; happy to recommend it. Fully equipped kitchen. About a 10 minute walk to the subway, but you can grab a streetcar from corner 30m from front door. Small store across the street. Very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Owner at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking your time and writing review. I'm really glad we could provide a satisfactory service and comfirtable stay for you.
I'm looking forward to see you again soon.

Regards,

Arya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have to say Mina's guest house feels very much like home. actually home away from home. staff members are very friendly location is great. If you have family or couple looking for extend stay I do recommend North York. A. clean B. very convenient for anything you would need.C.Owner is very nice and there is no if or may be just simple yes. of course I will come back only if I can make reservation usually they are busy. " just like you had long day from your work and come home"
Alex -Uni from New York

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Owner at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi

We are greatfull for your useful and nice review. We are looking forward to serve you again any time soon.

Regards

Arya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hi! I lived for many nights and this house become the real home for me. House looks very nice, rooms are renovated, absolute clear. Furniture brand new. Loudry included. And for sure in this very popular place you can't find as clean and nice home for that resonable price. By the way landlord nice gay ;).

Room Tip: in house Young&Sheppard best choise is room #1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Owner at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear guest !!

Your review is really helping us to run our business but more than that will help other guest to get a feel about our Guesthouse. We and our future guest who is factoring your review to book and stay with us appreciate that you have taken your time to leave this note.
Looking forward to be you host for your next trip to Toronto.

Cheers!!!!
Arya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 6 nights at the 246 sherbourne location, and was quite surprised at the value of this place. My room was very clean and tidy on the third floor - room 8. There's several cafe within a couple minutes walk, and an arboretum just north 5 minutes. China Town is a bit further, but definitely within walking distance. I really liked staying here - kind of felt like I was staying at a relative's house. Nice feel to the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Owner at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your nice review. this is really helping other guest to get a feel of the place.

I'm looking forward to see you here again.

Take care

Arya & Nima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I had wonderful stay at Mina's Guest house from Jan5. Everything was very well organized the time you check-in till the time you check-out. No hassles no issues. Straight forward. Room, house, Bathroom, and Kitchen was very clean (Key here).
Owner is very friendly and helpful.
Very Quite. No loud music or any problems for light sleepers.
Location is more than perfect walking distance to Young subway station and you can even get Dundas light-rail around the corner < 1min walk.
Food no issues. you have tons of restaurants, Halal, English, Canadian, Middle eastern, and lot more choices. You will enjoy..

If i have to plan to come to Toronto again for short or long trip, i have no doubt to make Mina's guest house my first choice.

I will recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed Room 6. Not sure how other rooms look like but i like Room 6 location. it is on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Owner at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Hi

I'm very honored and overwhelmed by your generosity and niceness that I don't know how to appreciate it. I'm very greatfull that you have chosen Mina's guesthouse as your second home and gave us a chance to serve you.
I'm looking forward to serve you again soon.
Cheers!!!

Arya & Nima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A privately located beautiful guest house in downtown Toronto. It is quiet, with good pricing and the facilities available is ideal with self service kitchen,fast wifi and paid laundry within the house. I was in room 10 for a month. Most likely will stay there when next in Canada.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arya Akbari N, Owner at Mina's Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Here at Mina’s Guesthouse we really appreciate that our guest takes their priciest time to write generous review. Our business strongly depends on our guests satisfaction. We promise to work hard to provide the maximum comfort for our guest while away from home.
Thank you and we hope to see you soon!
Arya ( Edwin ) and Nima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mina's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina's Guesthouse

Address: 246 Sherbourne | Sherbourne and Dundas, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mina's guesthouse is located in downtown Toronto offering fully furnished rooms and full kitchen. We have two rooms with private bathrooms in downtown location and other rooms every two or three rooms sharing one full bathroom. We have laundry and Iron in all locations. All location are close to subway station or bus stop is right at the door step. Need help just drop a line we will be happy to assist you at any time. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mina's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.