We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Watering Hole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indie Ale House

Indie Ale House
2876 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local Watering Hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is one of my local places that enjoy go to relax and enjoy some great beer. The staff are super knowledgeable about the beers on tap and are patient with those who are not frequent beer drinkers. The restaurants atmosphere is laid back and hip. The menu offerings are pretty good. The pizzas and burgers are never a bad choice. At the front of the restaurant there is a retail store where people can purchase some of the beer and bring it home in a large bottle known as a growler. This place is quite popular so Thursday- Saturday night is is difficult to get a table, so be sure to go early.
Highly recommended for any avid beer drinker.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Toronto. From start to finish I love every visit. Firstly they have an amazing selection on beer, I’ve been a few times now and have yet to be disappointed. For an appetizer I highly recommend the Chilli Bacon Popcorn, such a strange combination but it is amazing. The menu itself is diverse but tend to judge pubs by the quality of their burgers and the Ale House has top notch burgers. Prices are a bit high but definitely worth it. As far as service I have had nothing but great experiences every time. Service is fast, friendly, and knowledgeable. I look forward to my next visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beer heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

You can be adventurous with your beer at this place. The food is delicious and although you can choose to have a healthy dish, but if you want to have burgers and fries, it is worth feeling guilty about what you eat.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

In this restaurant you can try many different kinds of beer. My experience was great! Great service, great beers and great snacks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I found this gem for my partner who likes really bitter beer. Some of my food was quite good, my partner's meal was "damn fine" (his words). The server was quite knowledgeable about the beer selection and was able to help me pick a beer I liked, the Rainmaker. My partner also had what he says was one of the best beers he's had in a long time ... I can't remember what it was. The server was very friendly and helpful. Overall it was a very enjoyable evening and we will go back the next time we're in Toronto.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indie Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Indie Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indie Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.