We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel and City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel and City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My family arrived late in Toronto after our BA flight was delayed. After a rather uncertain welcome (a beggar insulted my wife in the hotel driveway), and Reception being unprepared for my visit, things got better and better.

Once having checked in, and seeing our accommodation, I was much happier. Our one bedroom suite was very well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom had spectacular views through floor to ceiling windows. The rooms for the children were very satisfactory.

Reception, once it had worked out everything, became efficient and very welcoming.

I liked this hotel very much during my three day stay. Once the hotel recovered from it's poor start it was a pleasure to stay there. Service was very good, and all members of the hotel staff were extremely friendly and would do anything to help.

The concierge desk must take all the prizes here. Under the the expert supervision of Robin Elliott, all the concierges were brilliant. A special mention to Margarita Noel, who handled all my trips, including a spectacular day at Niagara.

One extra note....The hotel prices were very reasonable, especially with the the tthree nights for two offer

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Dp103,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you and your wife had a great overall stay during your three night stay at Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to provide genuine service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are so delighted to know our Concierge team was able to assist you with your trip to Niagara. We really hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    61
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
65
153
14
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everything about this hotel is simply amazing. The atmosphere was great and the quality of everything was the very best. The staff were very helpful and always willing to assist you. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spectacular. The built in television in the mirror was our favourite. Definitely will be returning to this Hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Deanna M,
Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you had a great overall stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with genuine service from the heart and we are pleased to hear that you also enjoyed our amenities in your room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the future.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of the entertainment district and everything from restaurants to clubs and other night life is a short walk away.The hotel staff are on top form and the service is excellent and always with a smile , whether it's an over night out or longer this hotel really is outstanding.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Dear Lance K,
Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you and your partner had a wonderful overall experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in all areas of the hotel – service, guest suite, in-room facilities, amenities and live music, and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent location and very comfortable rooms.....staff anticipated every need and made the visit completely stress free. Pool and the health club is excellent.
Excellent location and very comfortable rooms. Staff anticipates all needs and very accommodating. Pool and the health club is very nice.

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed at recently





Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear I R,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our Health Club facilities and the pool. We strive to provide exceptional service from the moment our guests step into our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

As part of our family holiday we spent 3 nights at the Hotel and our first impression was one of friendly, efficient staff as the concierge beamed a welcome and valet parked our rental car. We also received a warm welcome from the check in staff who again, we're friendly and efficient as they were on check out. The rooms are extremely spacious and well appointed with the usual gadgets that one would expect from a relatively new hotel. Additionally, the Hotel is well sited and only walking distance from local amenities, transport and attractions. The Lobby Lounge has a lively feel to it and offered good quality live music in the evening however on the downside, the Greeting Girls were a little too aloof and appeared not to remember that we were staying at the Hotel even though we had met them on many occasions during our stay. This was however a minor irritation on what was a fantastic stay a wonderful hotel. Additionally, the Hotel restaurant Bosk is a gastronomic delight.

Room Tip: Try Bosk for dining excellence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Steve M,
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear our staff was able to make your stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto an enjoyable experience. We strive to provide genuine hospitality from the heart and impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel. I will make sure to share your kind comments with our management team about our Lobby Lounge associates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I spent our wedding night @ this Hotel and we couldn't have asked for a better stay!! Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and taken to our room. We were welcomed by a slew of yummy desserts and a cold bottle of bubbly to celebrate our union. The rooms are condo style, meaning you feel right at home. The bathroom is all marble from floor to ceiling and had a large, deep soaker tub for us to relax in. We had the luxury of staying in a HoneyMoon suite that had a large comfy king sized bed, accompanied by a large living area and bathroom. The pool on the upper level is a must see and the gym facility as well. We relaxed the next day @ the Spa and enjoyed a luxury Hammam style spa treatment/massage. We dined at the Bosk Restaurant for breakfast the next morning and relaxed pool side. A special THANK YOU to George S. In sales for making our wedding night so memorable and making sure we had everything we needed. We highly recommend this Hotel to anyone. It is right down town Toronto and has excellent service and style!! Lexx & Kevin O.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Kevin O,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay during your wedding night and that you enjoyed your honeymoon suite, the amenities, the pool and hot tub and our signature restaurant, Bosk. We strive to provide impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive at our hotel and we are pleased to hear our staff was able to make your stay a memorable one and will make sure to share your comments with George and the sales team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For the long holiday weekend, the thought was rather than travelling somewhere we would try a "staycation" type of long weekend. I'm very glad we made this choice. The stay was perfect. The property is beautiful and is both of a size and has enough to do for a proper staycation without feeling the need to go elsewhere. We did everything and everything was great. Dinner at Bosk was delicious and the service was great. We also had breakfast there, which was also great. We took in the lobby lounge at different times - once for High Tea and at other times for drinks, coffee or a snack. The atmosphere is great. Live piano playing or jazz singing is a great touch. Not to mention the lobby lounge is beautiful. We also took in the pool area and made use of the gym. We had a spa appointment which was a great way to spend a few hours on a Saturday afternoon - I've been to the other spas at the 5-stars in the city and I'm confident in saying you won't find a better one than this one. I can't say enough about the welcoming atmosphere and service from the staff. There were so many who made our stay great, but at the risk of singling someone out, I do have to mention Crystol in the Lobby Lounge. She was amazing and helpful and a great personality to deal with. The room we had was called an Executive King room and it was very nice, including a large bathroom with nice separate tub to soak in and watch some TV!

If you're looking for a getaway without having to getaway on a flight, I would highly recommend this experience. And you can make of it what you will and do how much you want to do. If you're visiting Toronto, this should definitely be on your list of choices.

Room Tip: The hotel seems very quiet and it was a busy weekend. We were on the 8th floor with no issues in te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Davide P,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our executive room, in-room facilities, amenities and your meal at our signature restaurant, Bosk, added to your memorable experience. We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto and that our staff was able to go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.