We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent option for a true staycation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent option for a true staycation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For the long holiday weekend, the thought was rather than travelling somewhere we would try a "staycation" type of long weekend. I'm very glad we made this choice. The stay was perfect. The property is beautiful and is both of a size and has enough to do for a proper staycation without feeling the need to go elsewhere. We did everything and everything was great. Dinner at Bosk was delicious and the service was great. We also had breakfast there, which was also great. We took in the lobby lounge at different times - once for High Tea and at other times for drinks, coffee or a snack. The atmosphere is great. Live piano playing or jazz singing is a great touch. Not to mention the lobby lounge is beautiful. We also took in the pool area and made use of the gym. We had a spa appointment which was a great way to spend a few hours on a Saturday afternoon - I've been to the other spas at the 5-stars in the city and I'm confident in saying you won't find a better one than this one. I can't say enough about the welcoming atmosphere and service from the staff. There were so many who made our stay great, but at the risk of singling someone out, I do have to mention Crystol in the Lobby Lounge. She was amazing and helpful and a great personality to deal with. The room we had was called an Executive King room and it was very nice, including a large bathroom with nice separate tub to soak in and watch some TV!

If you're looking for a getaway without having to getaway on a flight, I would highly recommend this experience. And you can make of it what you will and do how much you want to do. If you're visiting Toronto, this should definitely be on your list of choices.

Room Tip: The hotel seems very quiet and it was a busy weekend. We were on the 8th floor with no issues in te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Davide P,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that our executive room, in-room facilities, amenities and your meal at our signature restaurant, Bosk, added to your memorable experience. We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto and that our staff was able to go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    50
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
113
11
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had an amazing stay in the hotel over the long holiday weekend. The service, amenities, staff and decor are fantastic. Stayed in a corner suite with a lovely view of downtown. Rooms are well appointed with the latest technology and furnishings. Super bathroom. Large rooms for a big city hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Raf823,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to know you had a wonderful overall experience at the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in all areas of the hotel – service, guest suite, in-room facilities, amenities and live music, and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of the city with excellent service and staff. In the evening the hotel always had some entertainment going on which was always nice to come back from dinner or being out and have a nite cap.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the CN tower in view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Wiljor,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our Lobby Lounge, live music and amenities. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with excellent service and make their stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Shangri-La hotel, Toronto very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Every detail has been thought of in this hotel! It was by far the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in. The service is excellent the decor is stunning! Clean rooms, the bathrooms are gorgeous! you wont be disappointed if you stay here. The restaurant, BOSK had a wonderful breakfast menu, I highly recommend dining there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Erin O,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto and your breakfast at our signature restaurant, Bosk. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I always read the reviews here before I reserve a room. I was so excited to celebrate my mothers birthday at this 5 star hotel. Just like another reviewer I received an email from guest services about adding my mothers name to the reservation so they could make sure since it was her birthday to know who to acknowledge. I chose this hotel because of its personal touches like most 5 stars, but they did nothing, not even a personal message to her. So what was the point of their email? My room could accommodate 4 ppl and we had 2. So maximum occupancy was not an issue. Secondly, the view was awful. I paid for a premier room. Some of the furniture looked worn, the beds were comfortable but the floor to ceiling windows was a joke. There was a huge protruding wall that separated the 2 windows. So the width of the window was about 3 feet wide and this huge wall was about 7 ft wide of nothing. Simply a waste. The cable was not working for approx. 30 mins and intermittently thereafter. I've never experienced that issue in a 3 star. The noise level is awful. You here all the sirens, horns, motorcycles, etc. Their in room dining options are very limited. On a good note, the bathroom is lovely, beds comfortable, and most, not all of staff was friendly. This place was not worth the money and I usually do not write reviews but felt compelled to do so. Please stay at Trump. Paying attention to details is what should set a 5 star hotel apart from the rest. This hotel missed the mark.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tallymom1
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our overall experience did not meet your expectations. We will make sure to share your comments about room service with our management team. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the very near future.
Sincerely
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We decided to give this hotel a shot and change it up from the Trump - where we normally stay. My husband received an email prior to our stay to find out my name since they knew we were staying for our anniversary so they wanted my name too for some reason. We had also requested an early check-in. When we arrived at 12:45, they did not have a room ready, but we were able to upgrade for $20 (really? They couldn't just upgrade us?). We went up to the room and found the room to be average. The bed was comfortable, but it was not the cleanest room - hair was on the floor in the bathroom, on the walls of the shower and the furniture seemed to be quite worn for a newer hotel. We didn't bother saying anything because we wouldn't be spending much time in the room. When we came back later that evening, we tried to sleep but the noise was horrible. We were on the 10th floor and could hear the crossing walk signal all night and sirens- it was brutal. They have done a terrible job soundproofing the rooms. It's unfortunate because we had looked forward to our stay. Overall, it was very impersonal, not that clean, furniture looked worn, room was noisy (but bed was comfy) and.....they didn't even acknowledge our anniversary....I guess we were spoiled at the Trump.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here - get on the top floor and hopefully you won't hear the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Tvizz,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are sincerely sorry to hear that you had less than favorable experience with us. I will make sure to share your comments with our management team. We truly believe in providing excellent service, and I really hope to invite you back in the near future so we can show you our unique Asian hospitality. Please feel free to e-mail directly at richard.cooke@shangri-la.com if you have any further questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Beautiful property; immaculate condition. New and it shows. Great services, the attention to detail is very much appreciated. Bar staff and concierge (Robin) are all fantastic. Lobby bar is full of excellent drinks, too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Dsr124,
Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a great overall stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. It is always our pleasure to provide our guests with genuine service from the heart and make their stay memorable. I will also make sure to pass your kind words to Robin from Concierge.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future again.
Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.