We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish & Sophisticated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stylish & Sophisticated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is plush and comfortable, stylish and sophisticated yet managed to remain welcoming friendly, and unpretentious. The hotel is great for business travellers with its spacious rooms, luxury relaxing marble bathrooms, quiet (no noise whatsoever), and complimentary wifi etc. It was just a great place to stay, and I'd go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    48
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
46
108
10
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beaultiful modern hotel in the heart of downtown. The rooms are modern: has an iPad for ordering things, browsing the web, contacting front desk, etc.; the curtains are automatic with a push of a button; there is a TV in the mirror in the washrooms. Basically, staying in this hotel sets the bar high and makes every other hotel experience nothing comparable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We strive to make every guest experience at the Shangri-La, Toronto unforgettable and special and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the little details we had to offer at the hotel. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Arguably one of the best laid out hotel rooms i have staid in. Huge comfy bed, all the electrics reachable from the bedside including closing the curtains. A Nespresso machine and a spacious bathroom with separate bath and shower, thick white tiles and lovely white marble. Even has a TV embedded in the bathroom mirror and a backlit make-up mirror. Why can't all hotels be appointed like this! If there was one weak point it's the slightly lacklustre service in the restaurant for breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ticks all the boxes for business travel, including location, amenities, room standards, staffing. Gym is well equipped.
Only negative is lack of 'easy in, easy out' breakfast service - the 'traditional service breakfast' can easily cost $35+, but a trip across the street to any of a number of coffee shops nearby is an easy alternative. Overall, does what is says on the tin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Simon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We serve an assortment of freshly baked in house croissants, danishes and muffins for a reasonable price from 7am to 10am daily and they are all placed in a breakfast trolley as you enter Bosk restaurant. I hope this will save you from a trip across the street to a coffee shop next time and you will have the chance to taste our delicious pastries. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I came to Toronto a few weeks ago with my girlfriend and we were stunned by the decor of our room. The staff was super helpful with suggestions for us to visit and eat! Overall the hotel really was an experience on its own! Thursday night was great fun - they have a live band playing in the lounge area, lots of fun.

I would highly recommend this hotel for people visiting Toronto and want to stay downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so delighted to hear that you and your girlfriend had great experience during your stay at our hotel. We have live entertainment in our Lobby Lounge daily so we hope to welcome you back with your family and friends to enjoy more great music.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The decor was wonderful. Staff were friendly warm yet professional went out of their way to ensure a pleasent stay. Amenities were amazing. The pool and gym were the nicest i e seen in toronto. the food served during a high tea event was delightful. the event team were very friendly and welcoming. everyone down to the valet staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was also very conveniently located in the city centre. one of the nicest hotels i have been to in toronto. probably the most modern of the luxury hotels dowbown toronto has to offer. Wonderful addition to Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On Thursday nights the lobby turns into a lounge and attracts a group of young professionals. Its a great place to have a few drinks with your friends and listen to a live band. The staff are all very welcoming and the service is great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.