We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service and Luxury in the Financial District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Package
Ranked #7 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Service and Luxury in the Financial District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

By far one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at. The decor is smart, the service impeccable, and the ammenties plentiful and top notch. The fitness facilities are fantastic (reserve a cabana by the hot tub and relax with an inwall TV), the food at Bosk of the highest quality, and even the scented air has been planned out!

Rooms are spacious and bright (although there are a few per floor with smaller windows) and all rooms come with luxury toiletries, an iPad to interact with the hotel, fantastic linens, and lots of amazing little features (can you say motorized drapes and sheers?).

Room Tip: Each floor has a suite of three rooms that have a shared entrance (for larger groups - but each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience at the Shangri-La Toronto. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, especially at our signature restaurant bosk and our health club facilities. We strive to deliver the highest quality and are pleased that you were impressed. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    35
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
67
6
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently stayed at the Shangri-La in Toronto and found the experience to be worthy of sharing with others. Studious travelers should know that this is a new establishment and remarkable in style and décor. The rooms are extraordinarily well appointed and will meet or exceed the expectation of the most discriminate traveler.

The lobby did attract much attention and kept the staff busy attempting to accommodate the desires of all visitors. The restaurant meals and staff were nothing short of excellent and are deserving of recognition. Prices are competitive with the finest restaurants.

Finally and most importantly the staff provided service is beyond compare. You will not find this level of service elsewhere and I urge anyone considering a vacation stay in the Toronto area to spend a night or so at the Shagri-la.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We always strive to provide excellent and personalised service to our guests and it makes me happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel in prime central location. Very much enjoyed our suite overlooking University Avenue. Had a relaxing massage and hammam experience at the enchanting Miraj spa. The Noodle Bar at Momofuku was fun and delicious. Everyone was courteous and gracious without pretention. A lovely hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Pierre,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular view overlooking the University Avenue from your suite and had an overall lovely experience at the Miraj Spa and Momofuku. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax,Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Recently spent two nights and enjoyed our stay
The lobby is a bit quirky but the rooms spacious,bright,and wonderfully furnished.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Great location close to the COC,shopping,restaurants and funky Queen st west.
Only 20 mins or so to the waterfront and Dome.
10 mins to theatres.
Had dinner at Momofuku Daisho and enjoyed our tasting experience.Our bill for dinner was over $500 for two.Food was good but not nec phenomenal for that price.Great ambience though at the bar.
Also tried Momofuku Noodles for lunch and that was fabulous.
Shanti la a good choice when in Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza Town, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

After staying at the trump we decided to try out the Shangri-La. We stayed at there property in Mumbai so we knew what we were in for. Amazing new addition to Toronto 5 star hotels. We had the deluxe suite which was amazing! Nice big spaicous rooms,very clean! Will def be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Ms. Uga,

Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your deluxe suite at the Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Richard Cooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Shangri-La Toronto in April. Having stayed previously at the Shangri-La in Kuala Lumpur, Hong Kong and Kowloon, where the experience was simply exhilarating, we were anxious to see if the Toronto property was equally so.

A couple of days prior to our arrival, I had received a e-mail from the hotel to ask for our approximate time of arrival indicating that it was to ensure we would be accorded a "bespoke check-in experience." So, I responded with an ETA, expecting something out of the ordinary ... you know ... "bespoke."

Our check in was neither bespoke nor particularly memorable. We went up to the two desks that rogether make up the "counter." Both of the representatives were very polite and pleasant if not visibly sure who should attend to us. Finally, after a few moments of unease, I made their jobs easier by picking one over the other.

The representative who checked us in then walked us to our room, presumably leaving her desk unattended. Good thing the hotel is not busy. If this was the bespoke check in, then OK, I acknowledge. However, better hotels in Japan routinely do that. Nothing spectacular.

Our room was nice with all the little touches that one would expect from a 5-star hotel. We were on a relatively low floor since the higher floors are condos. Our room faced University Avenue and we could hear the traffic noise almost througout the night. Not good for light sleepers.

The pool and fitness centre were clearly showpieces of the hotel. Very opulant and the service from the attendant was very attentive.

The lobby bar - it being a Saturday night - was very busy and loud. Apparently, it is the "in place" for the young, trendy and rich in Toronto. Unfortunately, I'm not young, trendy and rich.

The hotel location is reasonably good. Facing Simcoe Street, it is not on a busy street. but the downside to that is there isn't a whole lot really close to the hotel. Across from it is a small 24-hr. grocery store and a coffee shop. Not much else. Around the corner, on King Street West, is where the action is. That's a 10-minute stroll away.

All in all, a good experience, but certainly not on par with our previous experiences at other Shangri-Las.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just stayed at the new Shangri-La In Toronto. The lobby is a little underwhelming with an odd area for checking in. You then have to walk through the bar service area to get to the elevators. The lobby is also a bit too highly scented. The rooms are nice. Unfortunately the hotel rooms are on lower floors and the condo are on the higher floors with the better views. I am not a fan of hotels which have residences. You are either a hotel which caters to the guest or a condo whose priority is the condo owner. The general impression of the staff is that they are not quite sure where they stand. By comparison, at the Ritz Carlton, a few blocks away, from the moment you get out of the car they make you feel like your part of their family. Overall, this is a solid choice. May return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Toronto

Address: 188 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5H 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Toronto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 202-room luxury hotel is situated in a new 66-storey tower on University Avenue at Adelaide Street. Shangri-La Hotel, Toronto occupies the first 17 floors of this development, which incorporates the historic "Bishops Block"- one of the oldest remaining buildings in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.