We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Momofuku shoto on 3rd floor is a great experience, but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Momofuku Shoto

Momofuku Shoto
190 University Ave | 3rd Floor, Toronto, Ontario M5H0A3, Canada
+1 647-253-6224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #700 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $49 - $123
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Shoto, guests are served by the chefs along the kitchen counter on the third floor of Momofuku Toronto. The menu changes frequently based on market availability, and the 22 seat counter allows for an intimate experience that is also ideal for special occasions and private dining. Headed by Chef de Cuisine Mitch Bates, Shoto serves a selection of a la carte dishes, an abbreviated set menu, and a chef's set menu.
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Momofuku shoto on 3rd floor is a great experience, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This review is about Momofuku shoto, which is on the 3rd floor of the noodle bar (not sure why Tripadvisor does not have a separate page for shoto). We had a dinner for five here during a visit to Toronto and sat at the bar around the kitchen to enjoy our $150 per person prix fixe dinner. It was a great experience, but seemed a bit impersonal. When the chefs approached with dishes and explained, it was a bit cursory (I'm sure the experience would be better for a couple, but we were five and a bit spread apart, they seemed to not care if we all heard the details or not). The attendants were friendly, but gave one of specific instructions about not taking photos with flashes simply because the camera was big and visible while everyone was taking photos with their cameras anyway (and we had already been to many great restaurants to know that we shouldn't use flash or take photos of other diners).

The food was good, starting with several amuse bouche dishes, followed by 8 dishes and 2 desserts. We were given a menu at the end, so we could figure out what we ate, It was nice watching the chefs prepare the dishes in batches. It seemed that now and then there was a mistake, for instance, one of our dishes seemed to have been salted twice. The fired rice served with lobster was not that great either. The dishes started off with lighter fare such as scallop, a thin slice of dry-aged beef, octopus, and pickled egg with trout roe. Then moved on to ravioli, lobster fried rice and then meat dishes -- pig face and lamb with yogurt. For dessert, we were served a cucumber/juniper ice and bluerberry/taro combo. There was more than enough food and all in all, it was very good, but could have been better with some more friendly presentation.

We'd still recommend trying it out as a new experience and to watch how the chefs prepare the dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    94
    82
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We just tried Momofuko Daisho tonight for a Summerlicious 2013. There was a lot of hype and people were saying a lot of good things about this restaurant, so we thought for sure we were going to have a great experience.

We were wrong.

I'll start with the positive things: the restaurant is nice and modern with beautiful windows that look over University Avenue in Toronto. It was nicely designed and overall the environment was very pleasant. The staff is professional and friendly. I liked how they brought you little goodies between meals that added a nice "surprise" factor to the experience.

In terms of the food, we had the "Shrimp Bun" for our appetizer: this was very tasty and IMO the best thing on the menu. We followed that with the "Trout": it was okay, but really not that special--certainly nothing mind-blowing as I was expecting. For dessert we had (1) the "Cake Truffles": I thought this was okay; my dinner companion thought it tasted like raw dough; and (2) the "Field Strawberry Pie": again, I thought this was okay; my dinner companion jokingly said that it tasted like a glorified apple pie from McDonald's.

Aside from the food just being so-so, the food portions are REALLY small so at the end of the meal, we were still quite hungry (in fact, we just made another dinner from home and are eating this now).

By the end, the meal for the two of us with a bottle of wine cost $188.00 with taxes + tips included. Considering that we were still really hungry at the end and really didn't have a "wow" experience, I'd say that Momofukno Daisho is a little overrated and not worth the money.

Go if you want to say you've been there and if you want to enjoy the ambiance (although you can just have a drink). If you're thinking of a serious meal that will satisfy you, be prepared to order a whole lot more than 3 courses OR go somewhere else.

P.S. If you want a private table (there were 2 of us) specify this in your reservation, or else you may be placed on a shared table as we were.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it, but just liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Love the pork, chicken and portobello buns at Momofuku Noodle Bar Toronto. I could have made an amazing meal out of just this.

Had the ramen noodles (the regular noodles once, and the beef tongue noodles on a second visit). To me, they were just ok. Broth was rich, heavy and oily, and I didn't love the flavour.

Milk bar cookie (blueberry cream) for dessert wasn't anything special (was kind of like eating raw cookie dough).

Fun drink selection.

Overall, I was expecting this to be fantastic given the hype, and I did like it...but I didn't love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over-hyped and Over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been dying to try the oh so talked about Momofuku Daishō, and decided to go during Summerlicious. We ended up coming home and having another dinner after spending $450 for 6 people and leaving less than satisfied. The décor I know is supposed to be minimalist, however, it was just cheap and the music gave us all a headache. The best thing was the bun....everything else went downhill. We are foodies and love good food...save your hard earned money and go to 2 other venues instead of this one...you will be more satisfied, and your palate will thank you (so will your pocketbook)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Thank You Shōtō for bringing real fine-dining to Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

First, I need to clarify that this review is for Shōtō restaurant -- (there are 3 different restaurants at Momofuku, Toronto.)

*Trip Advisor should separate reviews for the 3 restaurants as they are COMPLETELY different experiences!

i just came from the dinner with my wife. We were both surprised to see this kind of fine dining and haute cuisine making its way to Toronto, FINALLY! I understand that lots of North Americans would consider this restaurant as expensive, but they must differentiate this type of restaurant, which is literally about food as ART, and not just 'your-average-burger-pub'! The preparation, technique, and presentation of each dish is presented by chefs as artists. It makes no sense to compare the sizes of the dishes here to the sizes at a casual eatery!

The level and quality of food is compared to the top fine dining restaurants in Kyoto, Tokyo, Paris, London and NYC! We had a 10 course menu 'kaiseki' style served in a modern way. We fell in love with each and every dish, the lamb with frozen yogurt at the end of the meal was an EXCELLENT finish. We will definitely go back, and very soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momofuku Shoto also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Momofuku Shoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momofuku Shoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.