We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian-Fusion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Momofuku Shoto

Momofuku Shoto
190 University Ave | 3rd Floor, Toronto, Ontario M5H0A3, Canada
+1 647-253-6224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #700 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $49 - $123
Cuisines: Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Shoto, guests are served by the chefs along the kitchen counter on the third floor of Momofuku Toronto. The menu changes frequently based on market availability, and the 22 seat counter allows for an intimate experience that is also ideal for special occasions and private dining. Headed by Chef de Cuisine Mitch Bates, Shoto serves a selection of a la carte dishes, an abbreviated set menu, and a chef's set menu.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Asian-Fusion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food on the menu sounds weird and not at all appetizing, but once it arrives and you taste it, it is worth the risk!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    94
    82
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almonte, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place, good service......maybe over hyped!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had read about this chef and his new restaurants in TO, so when we stumped across this place on a Saturday, we decide to give it a try. There was no menu posted outside (Rule #1 is always post a menu outside), we had to go inside to look at a menu. It was short but the place smelled really good and there were a few dishes of interest. The place is very modern and you can sit at a communal table or at the noodle bar. Only Canadian wine was offered and it was pricy. The beer was also pricy so we stuck with water. We ordered a starter of rice cakes, and mains of Da Da Mien and Ginger Noodles. The noodles came first. Ask for some hot sauce is you like it spicy. The mien was very good with pork, peanuts and some spice. The broth was very rich. The ginger noodles were good but a little bland. The rice cakes were the best dish. They were fried and chewy in a spicy sauce. Several people around us had the buns which looked good. The service was friendly and attentive throughout the meal. I am glad I tried it, but will likely not rush back. At $40+ for lunch, a little on the pricy side.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Pretty good...but expected better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The seating is tight. Modern atmosphere. The buns were good. I expected the dishes to be somewhat tastier than they were. I think it's worth a first try...whether you go back will depend. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Ramen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The broth was similar to what I have had in Japan, the shitake buns a surprise , the gnocchi like rice pasta in chili sauce excellent, my husbands sesame ginger noodles, too oily, the okanamyaki with excellent katsobusho shaved on top excellent. Would I go back ? Sure

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lots of grease, but really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pork buns were absolutely outstanding, the noodle dishes good enough, and the price reasonable for a restaurant of its caliber. The room is noisy, the seating communal, but the food makes a visit worthwhile.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momofuku Shoto also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Momofuku Shoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momofuku Shoto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.