We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ways to get to know Toronto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foodies on Foot

Foodies on Foot
104-75 Portland Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V2M9, Canada
+1 416-826-1997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 275 Activities in Toronto
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Foodies on Foot provides Toronto's most creative food tours and food experiences. We are proud to be the recipient of the 2013 Ontario Culinary Tourism Experience Award. We create food related events and tours which unite foodies and food lovers, locals and tourists, over Toronto's ever expanding food scene. Join us for events including culinary crawls, chef series dinners, communal dining, supper clubs, food tours, and more. We also provide customized events and tours for conventions, tour groups, corporate clients, or any private group of 12 of more.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best ways to get to know Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our group of 8 did a private 501 Streetcar tour with Steven in January 2014 and it was one of the highlights of our visit to Toronto. What a great, creative way to learn about Toronto! I've done food tours in Chicago and NOLA, and this was the best one I've done, with the most substantial food offerings and the most diverse set of experiences. Using the streetcar allows you to see quite a large swath of the city and experience many different tastes and sights. Steven is an excellent MC, striking just the right interaction balance (some tour leaders speak too much or too little).

Highly recommended and a fantastic value!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHellman, Owner at Foodies on Foot, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
WOW. What a fantastic review. You really know how to make us blush. We cannot tell you enough how much we appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on the tour and for the positive sentiments. We are glad we were able to provide you with an excellent experience. We look forward to feeding you again the next time you are in Toronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    3
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“501 Streetcar tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spend a lot of time in Toronto, but always seems to go to the same places. The 501 Street Car tour crossing he city on Queen St. was a great combination of food and history. Stephen, the co-founder and guide was great. A fun tour for tourists and locals alike. We took the streetcar back that night to one of the restaurants he recommended and loved it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHellman, Owner at Foodies on Foot, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for the great review and kind words. It always makes us so happy to hear that people go to some of the restaurants we recommend and enjoy another meal. That is what it is all about...connecting people with the best food in the province. We look forward to feeding you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yumm Yumm Foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This tour was great You live in Toronto and you even dont now where to go and what to eat
me and my friends where very satisfied. The last stop" Chocolate Shot " was soooo good, please try hot chocolate from that store and get spicy. Thank you Steven keep up a good job.
Inga Igor Alex and friends Spicy company

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHellman, Owner at Foodies on Foot, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks for the fantastic review Inga. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and helping celebrate the birthday. Spicy is definitely the way to have your chocolate shot, especially in the winter. I look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Well, the 501 Streetcar Tour exceeded our expectations! Foodies on Foot stayed true to the promise of going ahead in any weather (freezing today!!!) and with only my husband and myself participating. It was great to have a private tour due to some cancellations by Canadians scared of the coldest day of the year so far ;). This is a rare occurrance I'm sure (the private tour, not the cold!).

We ate at some wonderful places, learned about different neighbourhoods of Toronto, and visited places we'd never been to on previous visits to the city. I'm still dreaming of my donut...just heavenly!

I can't say enough about the enthusiasm, knowledge and level of customer service that Steven showed. We couldn't have been happier with the tour, and would recommend it to tourists and locals alike. We can't wait to book another tour the next time we return to Canada.

Well done Foodies! All the best in 2014!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHellman, Owner at Foodies on Foot, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
You are so right. Private tours are not common, the cold, this year for sure! We are so glad to hear you had a good time on the tour and appreciate you braving the cold. It was bone chilling, but, in the end, a warm tummy leads to a warm body. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Canada, just leave the cold behind ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Do It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My friend suggested that the two of us do the 501 streetcar food tour. I had never done a food tour before, and while I loved the sound of it, I had not conception of what it would be like.

I had the BEST TIME! Steven was an awesome guide, the different foods we tried were diverse and yummy, we learned about different areas of the city. The people on the tour were all awesome! There was a great mix of people from Toronto who were celebrating birthdays or taking the tour just for fun as well as people who had come to Toronto either on business or for vacation. The owners of all the local businesses we visited were also really nice and Steven told us a story about each one. The story of how Foodies on Foot originated and the stories how the different businesses originated and evolved were all inspirational.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenHellman, Owner at Foodies on Foot, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the amazing review. Always great to hear that someone that does not know what to expect ends up loving the experience. It means a lot to us. We appreciate your glowing review and look forward to feeding you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foodies on Foot also viewed

 

Been to Foodies on Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foodies on Foot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.