We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, excellent service, but the noise level...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopgood's Foodliner

Hopgood's Foodliner
325 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, Ontario ON M6R 2M6, Canada
(416) 533-2723
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hopgood's Foodliner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #834 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grenadier Road
Transit: Street car - Grenadier Subway - Dundas west
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, excellent service, but the noise level...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved the food and the staff were wonderful! From the molasses bread, crab dip, donairs, mackerel on oat cakes, zucchini summer salad, charred octopus, pork neck with watermelon, sweetbreads, blueberry tart...it was all delicious! The only downside - it was so noisy we couldn't talk without yelling. I'm not sure why so many really great Toronto restaurants don't invest in noise baffles. It's actually painful to talk so loud and diminishes a great food experience. We'll go early next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not to be confused with a grocery store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Small, intimate dining experience. Waitstaff were attentive, friendly, and helpful. We sat near the kitchen where we could watch the chef perform his manic. This is a leisurely dining experience, with plenty of time to savor your dish and look forward to the next. The pan fried trout with smoked mussels was impeccably cooked, best I've eaten. Best food we had in Toronto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This restaurant was fantastic. The seafood was so fresh, best I have ever had. The wait staff was excellent, knowledgable and friendly. I can not wait to go back. If you are even thinking about going, DO IT.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A really different and enjoyable dinner experience. Friendly, attentive and helpful waitstaff with innovative and imaginative shared small dishes. The dishes are brought out in appropriately timed waves, never needing to wait too long or have an over-full table. A wide variety of tasty and different options: from the summer salad with zucchini flowers to an excellent crab roll, Halifax donair or steak with chanterelles and marrow. An interesting selection of cocktails, artisanal beers and a good choice of wines complemented this great meal. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
“The very best in Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is a reason Hopgood's Foodliner is always booked. The food rivals the staff for being the most delightful part of the experience. All the staff are extremely friendly and attentive to your needs. Furthermore, they seem genuinely happy to be working there (a testament to the great environment). The food speaks for itself. It is delicately crafted and offers the very best balance between elegance and taste. I assure you the plating of the food is only the first indication of what a treat you are in for. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is simply the finest that Toronto has to offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopgood's Foodliner also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Hopgood's Foodliner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopgood's Foodliner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.