We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An element of surprise in every dish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopgood's Foodliner

Hopgood's Foodliner
325 Roncesvalles Avenue, Toronto, Ontario ON M6R 2M6, Canada
(416) 533-2723
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hopgood's Foodliner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #838 of 6,773 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Grenadier Road
Transit: Street car - Grenadier Subway - Dundas west
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An element of surprise in every dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Everything was fabulous. I would rate it 5/5 - but there was one small detail overlooked - the atmosphere/design of the restaurant. The ambience is OK, but not excellent. The food however is AMAZING ! I will be back to try some more!
The scallops - buttery, and amazing
The crab dip was superb
Donairs - yummy - spicy, sweet and tangy
Halibut Cucumber and dill - innovative - and amazing

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great experience, lots of pleasant surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had dinner with the family Saturday night, and greatly enjoyed the meal. Was really looking forward to the donairs (my wife and I have loved them since we were university students, lamented the fact that they disappeared from TO for such a long time, but are happy they're making a comeback), and Hopgood's did a very good job on them, but the pleasant surprise was that we enjoyed almost everything else we ordered even more!

We shared each dish, which was the way to go - it took a little while between courses (service was very good, so it just looked like the kitchen was taking its time to make the dishes very precisely, which is just great) but each one was like a fun little exploration. Oysters were great, with an unusual/tasty relish. Crab dip excellent. Asparagus with morels and duck egg - fantastic. Pork shoulder special very good. Sweetbreads one of the best we've had, and loved the unusual presentation. Thought we might have ordered too much, but it was just about right.

Artisan drinks were very cool too. Had two Harvey Weisbangers, I liked it that much.

And for just under $200, reasonable value for a quality of meal that's right up there with many of the best in Toronto. Great place, will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“If this is Maritime food, I'm going there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located on vibey Roncy Street, this place is a definite 'must go' for those who love food, good food. Smallish menu, interesting choices (Duck heart tartare, anyone?), and attentive service made our last night in Toronto a memorable one. I had the best lobster roll EVER - served with half the upper body deep fried to a crisp in a sweet light crust. I am going to be dreaming about that one for a long time...We shared a number of dishes between 3 of us and they were all good. Digby scallops wrapped in bacon were sweet and perfectly rare. The steak was a little chewy but the jus was luxurious and the bone marrow undercooked to wobbly perfection. The east coast snow crab was sweet and the accompanying vinegar was a lovely surprise. Go there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“worth the cab ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were visiting Toronto and did not have a car - it was worth the cab ride. The food was innovative, fresh, service was ok....noise level was a little loud. If I lived in Toronto - it would be on my short list of favorite restaurants.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
585 reviews 585 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Great food. Interesting and Creative. Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A casual, crowded busy neighbourhood restaurant with lots of trendy buzz. Quick and eficient service. Very unusual menu with lots of creative and interesting food choices - we tried 6 dishes in total and all were really excellent. This isn't the best meal I have ever had; nor is the highest price I have ever paid, but for a restaurant at this price/level it was superb... One of the best meals we had in Toronto at any price.... You need to book....... which says it all really!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopgood's Foodliner also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Hopgood's Foodliner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopgood's Foodliner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.