We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was acceptable - service was terrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Texas Grill

Lone Star Texas Grill
930 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
+1 416-674-7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,208 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Lone Star is Canada's original Tex-Mex restaurant full of big bold tastes and Texas-sized fun.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
“Food was acceptable - service was terrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We ordered the fajita sampler platter for two, it was good. Service however was awful. Waitress was unfriendly anbd we kept having to get up and go find her when we needed something.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Celine H, thank you for providing us with feedback. I know the General Manager of this location would like to chat with you about your experience to get a better understanding. Please email me at scout@lstg.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    50
    20
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Food menu is nice tex mex. Nacho platter is massive. Nice fun environment and friendly service. Food is a bit slow coming. Decent priced.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

First time customer at the chain, and the experience was first rate. Service was good - courteous, but not vulture-like. I had the burger with guacamole, bacon and cheese (and a second bun), and it was perhaps the best burger I've ever had. Friend who had ribs got fantastic ribs. Another guest got a pretty good chicken and shrimp fajita.

Not witnessed, but another customer told me when she brought her young son to the chain, they'd give him a ball of dough from the tortilla-making area to play with.

I'd go again, and recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Awful service - never got to the food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am slow in writing this review as we visited last June. We planned on having dinner and sat out on the patio where there were 3/4 tables occupied. After 10 minutes someone came with menus left without asking for our drink orders. 10 min later they came and took our drink orders and left. 15 min later (see the pattern here?) our drinks came but no meal order was taken. 15 min later we managed to order a second drink which again came after a long wait. Meanwhile 2 parties that came in after us had their food. 25 min later I got up and went to the bar to request our bill which took 10 min to arrive.
The attitude of the server (Belle/Bella) was absolutely awful. On the way DH complained to the front desk person ( this was unusual as it it normally me who complains but this time he beat me to it) who did offer to get the manager but by then just wanted to go and get some food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi keenvisitor, if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail please contact me at scout@lstg.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Group of 15 left disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were seated next to freezing windows and froze the entire time. 1 server for 15 people made it quite slow. One person in our group ordered chicken spinach salad and it actually came to the table without spinach? Caesars were too spicey. A couple of people went to bar to get beer refills because of slow service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Star T, Guest Relations Manager at Lone Star Texas Grill, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Shannon K, we'd like to talk to you about your Lone Star experience. Please contact me at scout@lstg.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Texas Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star Texas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star Texas Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.