We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre to your Saves list
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Victoria Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8 , Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Your Holiday Escape
Ranked #46 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

You get what you pay for, lovely rooms, great ambiance. If you just want a room to sleep it this may not be for you. This is an upscale place for young professionals rather than a family hotel. I look for places that are better for singles and child-free couples and this suits the bill.

  • Liked — Modern hotel.
  • Disliked — Everything was fine, no complaints.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    188
    67
    52
    65
See reviews for
39
190
42
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south western ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

This hotel is perfectly located for a show at Massey Hall or the Canon Theatre - no need for a taxi. We stayed in a "serenity" suite on the 4th floor. Soft lighting, fountains, serene music. Very comfortable king sized bed with duvet and lots of pillows. Rain shower in the bathroom was great, although the jacuzzi tub didn't look that clean. The staff we encountered were all very friendly - maid, parking attendant, front desk clerk. The continental breakfast was very good. High quaility teas and coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, waffles and very nice cheese. It is a short walk to the Eaton's Centre and Yonge street for shopping.

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — jacuzzi tub didn't look clean
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2008

This review has taken awhile, but I will share my experience with you. In October 2006 my wife and I were getting married. We were looking for a nice hotel at a decent price where we could spend our wedding night. After checking a number of hotels, we were very satisified with the Pantages (in terms of price, room size, layout, etc...), and decided to book it at least 3 months prior to the actual night we needed it. Everything seemed to be in order, I even received an email from the Manager a week before our stay saying that everything was taken care of, and I had more important things to worry about then the hotel.

On Wedding Night, we arrived at the hotel and recevied the keys to a room not the one we had selected. I asked if this was the same room, and the front staff said it was 'similar'. When we got to the room there was nothing similar about the room. I called back down to front desk and was told that someone had taken the room we had wanted, and left their belongings which meant that the hotel staff could not remove it. At this point I was thoroughly disgusted. I will admit that the hotel manager did get on the line with us and said he would do whatever it took to make us feel better. He said he would comp us for the room, however, that really wasn't what we were looking for. Eventually we ended up going to the Cosmopolitan which is a sister company of their's (which they comped), but the whole experience left us very bitter.

After returning from our honeymoon I sent the Manager an email stating how dissapointed I was in their service and the fact that I never even received an apology letter. She did send me an apology letter after and called me as well to tell me how sorry she was, but it wasn't enough.

It's been more than a year since this incident has happened, and the experience still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I strongly urge all potential guests of this property to book elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Too Numerous to List
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

The location of this hotel is terrific, the staff were courteous and friendly, but the hotel itself is need of repairs, painting and generally updating. We were put into one room at first that had a loose floor, water stains on the walls, bedspread with holes in it and grubby looking furniture. When we expressed our disappointment with the room the staff were great and moved us to a different, bigger room. The only thing was that the same things were wrong with this room! There were many scratches on the furniture, baseboards falling off and the artwork on the wall had dents all around the corners! We soon found out the reason as it kept falling off the wall! The rooms were basically shabby. But the staff were nice, the service was good and the location is great.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2008

What a fantastic hotel. The staff is friendly and professional. The hotel is clean and well appointed.

We booked a superior room but upgraded when we got there into a room with a big living room and separate bedroom. Somehow they found out we were celebrating my birthday and they sent a nice cake and even sang!

The people who work there look like they are having fun and they were so helpful in directing us to the best shopping and dining experiences.

This was my first time in a boutique hotel but it will not be my last!!!

The rooms had a washer and dryer and a kitchen. The hardwood floors were really nice.

We had a great time at Pantages and will be back for sure!

  • Liked — the people and the rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

Booked the place through Expedia based on reviews and advice from friends who stayed there.

What a mistake !

This place is in a BAD neighborhood. It is on a small street near Yonge and Dundas and some creepy characters are constantly passing by demanding money or simply giving you the look.

Room was awful - small as a shoe box and overlooking a dirty rooftop with some machinery on top. We have asked for another room and were brushed off by front desk staff who had difficulty speaking English.

Save your money ! AVOID THIS PLACE !

  • Liked — we only had to stay there 1 night
  • Disliked — Neighborhood, small and VERY NOISYroom, nasty staff, place is very poorly built
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

Nice little boutique hotel. Very central to many of Toronto's attractions and a quick subway or streetcar ride away from many others. The suites were very nicely appointed with modern furniture and kept clean. The small kitchenette was a nice touch for people who wanted to stay in.

  • Disliked — Wireless internet was a challenge.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre

Address: 200 Victoria Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1V8 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#30 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#43 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Toronto, Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre offers style and luxury while pairing contemporary design with modern architecture and personalized service. This stylish boutique hotel includes a full service spa, exclusive meetings and events floor, martini bar & lounge with weekly live jazz. Our 90 well appointed suites are loaded with amenities that cater to short and long term stays and leave you wanting for nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantages Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.