We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not trust this guy with your credit card.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Save Saved
You added Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
1.5 of 5 Condominium   |   135 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 65 Specialty lodging in Toronto
ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“do not trust this guy with your credit card.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I had been travelling in south america and returned to canada to activate our working holiday visas (we're Irish), the weekend our flight arrived into toronto happened to be an incredibly busy weekend, gay pride, canada day and some other kinda international day (im sorry for not knowing the name). All accomodation was booked up except for this place and we thought we were really lucky but realised after we were wrong. we booked 3 nights at at $ 224 (alot i know but it was a busy weekend and we were desperate). We then phoned the manager and asked for another 3 nights as we were searching for a more permanemt residence, The Manager/Owner told us that this was fine and we would be charged the same rate from when we booked in ..('exact words'). a week later as we had extended our stay further, as we looked for apartments we realised that he had carged our credit card $200 more than the first rate. We rang him immediately and he told us that july was a higher rate than june ... which was completely contrary to what he had said when we first wanted to extend our stay. We were gutted as were on a pretty tight budget and this guy had totally decieved us.
We ended up being charged for $90 plus 21% tax a night instead of $55 even though 'hostel bookers.com' had quoted cheaper for those dates and we were helpless as he had our credit card details. Please do not stay at this place with this guy... and please please do not trust him with your credit card details because you will not know the true charges until its too late.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
We forgive you, for your attitude. Everybody knows, one of the things the businesses have to do, in the slow time, is to lower the prices. Look around, there are sales everywhere for one reason or the other. We are no different. You booked for 3 nights, the first two nights were extemely low priced, due to sale. As a matter of fact we never sold that low. The 3rd night was closer to market rate; our regular rate for the same room vary $60 a night to $100 a night, depending on season and demand. When your husband/ boyfriend called to renew for another 3 nights, he was told, we will renew at the same rate as the last night of your 3 night booking. He was happy, and to further make sure that everything was up and up; we dropped off the new folio, showing the charges for the first three nights, and for the renewal. Nothing was hidden. After that you renewed for another 3 nights at the same rate. It wasn't until the day of your departure, you questioned the rates. We don't understand, what is there so hard to understand, a business is not obliged to take a loss all the time. You booked the last night with full knowledge of the rate, with a booking site. We told your husband/ boyfriend that we will charge the same rate, as last night. We gave you a written record of rates. You are furious on us for no reason, it took you a long time to get a permanent accommodation. What makes you say, we abused your credit card, in anyway. If you can prove an abuse, we guaranty you, we will refund you 10 times the amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    2
    22
See reviews for
4
6
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I've read some of the reviews below and have to say that people have been really unfair regarding this hostel.

The proprietor was an easy going, straight forward guy - not rude at all - actually very funny and easy to get along with. It’s rare to see people in the services work that hard to please guests – so we appreciated this having come from backpacking around Europe.

As backpackers we were looking for value. We had the flexibility of cooking in if we needed a break from eating at restaurants which we really enjoyed. It was great to meet other guests at the hostel in the common area. Really relaxed vibe. Clean, simple, cheap. That's what we needed.

We were so close to all the major sites in the city - couldn't have asked for a better place.
St. Lawrence Market was literally down the street - it is an awesome farmers market - highly recommend!

Overall - we would definitely come back to this hostel next time we're passing through Toronto and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Appreciate, your honest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I dont know where to start with this place, I felt I was staying at a buddies crummy apartment rather than a cheap hotel. location is horrible, only thing within wakling distance is a gas station and a bus stop to get outta there, room and beds were disgustingly small..I'm six feet and my feet were hanging off the bed, one very dim light in the bedroom, 10" T.V. from 1995, stained carpets and floors, rat traps in the corners of the hotel, shared bathroom which was 30 feet away from my room, Its better to use a washroom in the convienience of your own room, no amenities, and management was terrible.

Room Tip: NEVER book cheap hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Yes, you are right! Where to start. It looks you had unauthorised guest in your room. We clearly state room is either for one person or a double room for two. For exactly the same reason, we do not allow more persons than the room is meant for. Still some people do what they are not supposed to do. Unless you expected everything within 100 feet and found the gas station and bus stop, there was a lot more at 200 feet , and 300 feet, all one has to do, is walk a little further.
Surprise to know, we had a 10" TV, we have not seen one since 70s. Perhaps you can help us to locate it, by telling us the room number. What amenities were you in need of. For the price you got more than any hotel in the same class offer. The problem comes when people expect in a $60 a night room, what is offered in $300 a night room. You stayed one night, booked one room and brought 20 friends. When the 18 extra un-paying guest were asked to leave, that makes the mangement terrible???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Good aspects: Room is clean and organized, and has a good, clean bathroom. It seemed to have been recently renewed, and had an equipped kitchen. Location is good, close to the Younge and Dundas Streets.

Bad aspects: Reception hours are terrible - it`s only open a couple hours a day. Since we arrived at the hotel outside those open hours (5pm on a saturday), the manager was extremely rude to us. At night, we noticed that the heater in the room was not working. The room was just freezing cold!!! There wasn`t any hotel staff anywhere to help us, and the phone that the manager gives the guests was obviously off. We could only sleep after we turned the burners on to try to boil some water and warm up the room. Even like that, it was a bad night of sleep because a little after we turned the burners off the room became cold again.

You might find good reviews about this hotel because the manager offers to pay CAD5 per positive review that the guests write about it.

If you still want to go to this hotel, check reception hours and plan to arrive when it is open. Check if everything in the room is working ok, because after those hours you are not going to find anyone to solve your problem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
As much as we appreciate you unreasonable comments, we feel your comments reflect more your attitude than our inability to service. We are open according to the call of our mode of operation. Becasue of our size and needs of our customer, we operate during the hours that suit 99% of our guest. We do not take any walk in guest, when you arrive a day before your booking, you are just a walk in; and we are not geared for walk-ins. After making special arrangement for your to leave your baggage, we asked you to come back at 2:00 PM, and not 5 hours later. You put un-necessary load on our resources. It cost us more to have an attendant wait for you than the nightly rate you paid. As much as they say the customer is always right, but you MADAM are most un appreciative. As far is heating is concerned, it is automatic central heating and not set for people who are used to high temperature, but it can be turned up or down by occupant. If you did not know how, a call could have solved the problem. If you did not know how to use the room phone, you could have used the cell phone.
We did not have to pay you anything for writing a bad review. It is only fair to give credit to people who give their valuable time to write a positive review. Unlike you the happier people give an honest opinion, and $5 credit can not buy thier honesty, it is simply a token of appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

After a nightmare in a hostel in Chinatown, it was our only alternative. Much better than the previous one, but not worth the money you have to pay. The office was mainly empty, we run out of Toilet paper and the entrance door was very very annoying (peeping all the time).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
It was nice to have you stay with us. Yes, we agree with you it was too expensive for you, but you found out, when you went to cheaper place. We operate under free enterprise system. No business can survive when they over price and for that matter under price. Our office hours are limited, and we do adjust them according to needs. You know a 24 hours attendant costs money, and will force us to increase the price, so we work on a happy medium, limited personal presence, and extended remote attendence, almost 24/7. Toilet paper are kept in storage, accessible when needed. In 99% of cases, we can solve most problem over t he phone. As far as beeping; peeping for you; is for security reason. A little annoying, but a lot for security. Come and stay with us, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Best quality/price place in Toronto, if you don't mind to share bathroom. Really centric, less than 5 min walking to the city hall and all touristic places in Toronto. Rooms, bathrooms and shared places very clean. Free Internet. Room with TV, fridge, microwaves and air conditioning. Hotel management very kind and polite. I had a problem with the wireless connection and they solved it immediately. Really good information on their web page. Recommended place to stay for a weekend without spending a lot of money (other places in Toronto were more than double in price at that time).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Thank you, it really makes us do more, when you appreciate what do. We will work twice as hard, just to get comments like yours. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Address: 135 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 65 Specialty lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Lawrence Residences & Suites welcomes you to the clean, comfortable, quiet ,homely environment,we are here to serve you and to make your stay comfortable.Services and AmenitiesCommon Amenities and services in the buildingEquipped kitchen shared by guests - Cooking range, Toaster, Electric Kettle, Microwave, Fridge, Pots & Pans Dishes and Cutlery (on Use it Clean it basis) High-Speed internet enabled computer in common area (In room connection available for a small fee) Phone for FREE local calls, in the common area (In room connection available for a small fee) Onsite Coin Laundry Breakfast Nook, (Free Coffee, Tea - help yourself) Mailbox service Fax Service Deep freezer Common Disposal room for the eco-friendly environment Shared bathrooms - with private Showers Iron and Ironing Board Hair Dryer Vacuum Cleaner Pets free environment Amenities in Deluxe Furnished Rooms with shared washroom and kitchenFresh linen and towels provided Soap bars A computer/study desk Color TV in the room Cupboard Microwave and a mini fridge provided in the room Single, Double, Twin, Bunkbed, Quad beds in the room Amenities in Deluxe Furnished Studio Suites - Private Bathroom/ Shower -KitchenetteFresh linen and comforter/blanket Towels and complimentary washroom amenities Air conditioner in every room Love seat or dining table with 2 chairs Fully Functional kitchenette TV with cable Side lamps Clock Radio Pots, Pans, Dishes, and Cutlery Microwave A large 9 cu feet FridgeServices and facilities available for a fee High speed internet connection In room phone facility Photo copy and fax services within the premises VCR Convenient parking (across the road from the property) House keeping service if required ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, Budget Places, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Lawrence Residences Hotel Toronto
Saint Lawrence Residences And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.