We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Seaton Dream B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A Seaton Dream B & B to your Saves list
A Seaton Dream B & B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   243 Seaton Street | Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5 , Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 126 Toronto B&B and Inns
manchester uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

After reading reviews of many other Bed and Breakfast establishments in Toronto, we kept coming back to the one that stood out, A Seaton Dream. My wife and I stayed with Alan and James for 7 nights, they both could not do enough for us. Previous reviews had not exagerated ,their home was a picture, the food was so artistically presented it was a shame to destroy it. We could not recommend A Seaton Dream highly enough. Good Bed,Ensuite bathroom,and a safe neighbourhood to walk around in. We would certainly stay here again. Thanks Guys. Norma and Ron Sale UK. .

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
67
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

While this was a beautifully restored Victorian house, the neighborhood was "emerging" and the hosts need some polish.

The immediate locale was fine but when we walked to the city center (which was convienient) we passed blocks of questionable areas. Even though we are city folk (Philadelphia) we tooks cabs after dark and had I not been with my husband I wouldn't have been comfortable walking during daylight.

Breakfasts were delicious and varied and more than 2 people could handle, but other amenities needed some polish. Our trash wasn't always emtied and we had one low grade towel each for our 3 day stay. I also felt intrusive having to find space in the refrigerator to place a bottle or 2 of water.

  • Liked — rennovations & cost
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

This was my first stay in a bed & breakfast and I can honestly say that it exceeded my expectations. The house, located in a charming Victorian neighborhood, was recently refurbished and is in beautiful condition. Our room was clean and very private (we had the lower level room). Jamie and Alan were very helpful as far as recommending places to see and in giving us easy directions. From the house, we were able to walk to all of the attractions/areas of the city that we wanted to see. All of our requests were accomodated by Jamie and Alan. The breakfasts, which were different each morning of our stay, were absolutely delicious! We will definitely return to A Seaton Dream when we once again visit the beautiful city of Toronto.

  • Liked — Accomodating hosts
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We stayed here at the beginning of our honeymoon in May. What a find. Jamie and Alan are the perfects hosts, and the attention to detail was excellent. The house was tastefully decorated, the room was quiet, clean and made us feel like we were the only guests ever to have stayed here. The jacuzzi tub is a real treat after a hard day's sightseeing. The breakfasts were excellent, really well presented, and nothing was ever too much trouble. A 15 minute walk from the main tourist area of Toronto, we would recommend this retreat to anyone wanting to avoid the impersonal stay of a hotel. Jamie and Alan we will be back!

  • Liked — The personal touch
  • Disliked — We had to go home!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Our trip to Toronto was all the better for staying at the excellent 'A Seaton Dream' in very pleasant Seaton Street. Don't you just love it when people running a place get it right! Very tastefully decorated, this is a stylish yet incredibly homely b & b - an absolute breath of fresh air for those wanting to avoid the faceless, couldn't-care-less hotel chains. Jamie & Alan are superb hosts; laid back but very efficient and quick to help with anything you need. Breakfast truly delicious - and chatting to fellow guests, a very relaxed way to start the day. Without doubt, one of the friendliest and most interesting places we've ever stayed. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — not being there long enough!!!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

After a long North America trip it was like coming home a few weeks early, before actually going back to Germany. The B&B immediately felt like home and Jamie and Alan, the two owners, were absolutely welcoming and helpful.
During the days at the B&B we met more nice and openminded people from all over the world, than in later months living in Toronto!
The atmosphere was very relaxed and the service more than satisfying. The breakfast gets you through the day easily and you can always count on the recommendations given by the two.
In future, there will be ensuite bathrooms for all the rooms, which will make a stay even more comfortable.
The cute little garden looked very inviting to wind down after a long day of walking around the city. And you can walk literally everywhere from Seaton Street. Alternatively there is two different street cars nearby.
The area of 'Cabbage Town' where the 'Seaton Dream' is located is an up and coming area with a very interesting social mix and a very authentic feel, urban along the main streets and cosy in the side streets with a couple of small bars and restaurants in walking distance.
All in all I have to say that Jamie and Alan evolved from perfect hosts to even better friends!

  • Liked — the relaxed athmosphere, clean rooms and perfect breakfast
  • Disliked — /
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the hosts for their favorite places in the area. You won't be disapointed!
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

The positive points about this B&B are as follows:
1. The location in terms of distance from the city centre is good as it is only some 15 minutes walk to the Eaton Centre.
2. The hosts are friendly and the atmosphere in the B&B is relaxed. It is more like staying with friends rather than a commercial deal.
3. The breakfasts are both wholesome and sufficent for most peoples needs.
4. It was not particulary expensive.
The negative points are:
1. The area that the B&B is situated in, is not the most salobrious. Indeed on arrival by taxi from the train station I started to wonder if the driver was heading in the wrong direction. The problem with the area for those of a nervous disposition is that the B&B is situated in the east side of the city. As with most big industrial or port cities the east side tended to be populated by the workers and consequently was generally last to receive any positive attention from the city authorities.
Whilst I had no particular problem with the area I could see where others would be put off as there are a number of single mens hotels and homeless refuges in the area, though not in Seaton Street itself. If you are concerned about walking in this type of area, this B&B is not for you!
2. Seaton Street and its immediate environs are situated in an area that is presently undergoing something of a renaissance. The B&B itself is an old period house that sits in a quiet tree lined street with similar type properties on both sides of the street. This is obviously an area that is now being populated by the better off of the city and there is clear evidence of significant renovation and redevelopment of the existing property in the area, but there is still away to go.
3. If you visit the home website for the B&B, I would warn that in its present form it substantially oversells the property, e.g. the west wing is really just the large front room of the property and the rear garden and sauna is not really something to write home about.
4. Whilst friendly and easygoing the guys who own the property need to realise that if they wish to encourage guests, particularly women, to avail themselves of the kitchen facilities then they need to ensure that it is kept clean and tidy at all times. I am afraid that used dishes and pans left in the sink and on the cooker does not leave a good impression.
5. They also have to realise that guests expect to have their towels changed, or at least be offered a change, on a daily basis and that rubbish bins in the room should also be emptied. We found that this was not done, even though I would describe myself as being a fairly low maintenance type of guest.
6. The "shared" bathroom was right out of the 1960's, however the B&B is closed for renovations for four months and the rooms are to be fitted out with en-suite facilities so this issue should be resolved.
In conclusion, I was disappointed with the overall standard of the accomodation on offer. This was my first stop on a five city vacation to Canada, which I was visiting for the first time. I am glad to say however that this negative experience was not repeated throughout the rest of my journey.

  • Liked — Location in terms of city centre.
  • Disliked — The slip shod attitude to cleanliness.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Seaton Dream B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Seaton Dream B & B

Address: 243 Seaton Street | Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2T5 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Seaton Dream B & B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private bathrooms for all! Experience casual elegance in downtown Toronto. We have carefully planned the decor of our bed and breakfast, which was completely renovated in 2007, to ensure you instantly feel relaxed and comfortable. Whether you are enjoying the garden patio, rejuvenating yourself in the sauna, drifting off to sleep on our new mattresses, or savoring a delicious hot breakfast, we look forward to making you feel at home every minute of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your A Seaton Dream B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Seaton Dream B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.