We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Inn to your Saves list
Stay Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   560 Evans Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M8W 2W1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Catharines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The funniest part of this stay was that the toaster in the breakfast room shot the toast out like a rocket. It was quite funny to watch because the people didn't usually stand and monitor their toast, so they were very surprised to see their toast fly out in to the air and land on the floor.

The worst part of the stay was the bed bugs. We were bitten several times and notified the front desk of the problem. The staff was very casual and unalarmed. They promised to take the room out of service. We called the room the next night and their was a guest in the room. I guess they didn't take the room out of service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I do apologize for your unpleasant experience and wish to get your feedback to get this resolved. We do value your support and interest for Stay Inn Toronto and wish for you to return and feel comfortable when here.
It would be my pleasure to further discuss this with you so therefore please contact me at your ease. Looking forward and I’m truly sorry about your negative experience.
At our establishment we have cleaning and property maintenance programs in place that prevent such issues. I do apologize if you felt we did not take your matter seriously. We did and executed accordingly. If you would like to further discuss this, please do not hesitate to reach me.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    67
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
33
42
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were in the area for 2 days of business at Bloor and Islington and the Stay Inn was a very good choice. We looked forward to the hot/cold breakfast both mornings and were given a late check out on our day of departure, no problem. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the first floor close to where we were parked, the front desk and the breakfast...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy U, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Stay Inn Toronto. Very glad to hear of your recent stay with us. Thank you again for rewarding us by posting your experience on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Three times in a row I stayed here because it was close to my business location. The rooms are very nice and clean. The free breakfast is very good but the service is the worst that I have ever encountered in my travelling career.

The 200 character review maximum does not allow me the space to cite examples of how bad and inconsiderate the service was. I was left to wonder if the staff training included ignoring the customer, don't smile and being rude if okay. The one bright light was Anna who was the only reason
that I came back to give the hotel another try.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy7807, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for staying with us. I do apologize for your unpleasant experience and wish to get your feedback so I can get this resolved. We do value your support and interest for Stay Inn and wish for you to return and feel comfortable when here.
I would like to further discuss this with you so therefore at your convenience, please contact me. Looking forward and I’m truly sorry about your negative experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. Very clean rooms and public areas. Lots of choices for breakfast and it was great. Free parking which in the Toronto area is worth a lot. If you are going to Toronto for the downtown experience it is not for you, old and industrial neighbourhood is not the best, but going to anything in the west end or along the lakeshore great. Five minutes from Sherway Gardens and 30 seconds from 427N entrance.

Room Tip: No elevator but only two floors and second floor more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy7807, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is our second time staying here and it is good value for the price...$105 per night and includes breakfast. When we first checked in and went to our room I made a point of laying on top of the bed to check out the quality of the mattress because I have had back issues previously. The mattress did not seem comfortable at all so immediately went back to the desk to ask for another room with a better mattress. They gave us another room just down the hall on the main floor. The mattress was a slight improvement but I recall when we last stayed there 1-1/2 years ago, that the bed was very comfortable! I asked the girl at the desk for a newer mattress but I still think that they could have improved on it. My husband and I are in the accommodation business and we have top quality mattresses on all of our beds...a must as far as I am concerned! Also, please, please update your comforters...they are in a very sad state to say the least!
The breakfast was good although my suggestion to not let the bacon sit in a cup of grease would be a good idea. When you pick up a piece of bacon, it drips of grease.
Having said all of this, it was an ok stay and we will most likely go back when we visit again especially since you really can't beat the price for Toronto!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy7807, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Excellent feedback you have shared. I will definately take all your comments to the drawing board as we value your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stay at this motel when I visit my old neighbourhood of Alderwood. (twice, so far)
Ii's clean, close to major intersections that will take you to the airport or downtown (or Alderwood).
Rooms are spacious enough, parking is free, staff has always been courteous and the price is right.
The breakfast is pretty good for an inclusive. Above average scrambled eggs and bacon, plus a fairly good selection of "sticky buns", waffles, bagels etc. No fruit when I was there. The breakfast area, is small and a bit warm.
No coffee in the room. No fridge.
However, good value at $100sh per night.

Room Tip: It's a two level motel. Get a room on the bottom floor if you can so you can park in front of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy7807, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. I'm not sure when you stayed but, we do serve fresh fruits for breakfast, Monday to Friday only. If for any reason, during these days the fruits are not present, please do let us know and we can try to accommodate right away. Also all our rooms have a mini-fridge which is located beneath the television.
If you ever have any questions during your stay, please let our front desk know as our only priority is for our guests to have a pleasant stay. We want to make sure you are happy and comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Only negatives about this hotel is no elevator and the area is okay, but not pretty. Overall, very good hotel with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy7807, General Manager at Stay Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again and again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Inn

Address: 560 Evans Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M8W 2W1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#41 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to STAY INN. Our location is unbeatable — easily accessible to public transit and seconds away from major highways, Sherway Gardens Shopping Centre, Restaurants and just minutes from MasterCard Centre for Hockey Excellence, Toronto Pearson International Airport and Downtown Toronto. Additionally, there are a wide variety of places to dine ranging from fast food to fine dining, the option is yours. When staying with us, We Offer COMPLIMENTARY• Calling within Canada• Breakfast Buffet• Movies• High-Speed and WIFI• 24/7 Coffee & Tea Service• Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Stay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stay Hotel Etobicoke
Stay Hotel Etobicoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.