We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second City Toronto

Second City Toronto
51 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 9G9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #29 of 275 Activities in Toronto
Type: Comedy Clubs, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Second City is renown as the world's premier comedy theatre, with critically-acclaimed live improv and sketch comedy shows on stage every night. Located in the heart of Toronto's Entertainment District, The Second City's intimate cabaret theatre offers table service of a affordable bar and food menu, as well as pre-show dinner packages. Enjoy a night of laughs and up-to-the-minute satire from the legendary comedy troupe that inspired Saturday Night Live, SCTV, and Whose Line Is It Anyway! The Second City's list of alumni include entertainment legends such as Martin Short, Eugene Levy, Gilda Radner, John Candy, Andrea Martin, Mike Myers, Colin Mochrie, and hundreds of others. Tickets are only $12 - $29, making The Second City the best entertainment value in Toronto.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Many of the best comedians have come from Second City in Toronto. I was even able to buy a half priced ticket. I have been to Second City in Chicago, and the humor is just as good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    97
    22
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Memeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The cast told us from the outset that they wanted to make a little difference in our lives and they were successful as there is nothing like a good belly laugh.

I recommend their show and think the upcoming short run based on the 1977 movie Slapshot will be quite funny.

Go to the late show and stay for the 20 minutes of improv at the end.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lots of Laughs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was a super fun evening for not a lot of money! I would do this again. About an hour and 1/2 of sketch comedy with a great cast of comedians.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We frequent live theater and comedy shows, but were disappointed. The acting was not much better than what I have seen in high school productions (with the exception of 1 actress). Staff friendly. Most people in the audience seemed to enjoy it, though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great show, lots of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We've been to Second City Chicago in the past, and were really looking forward to seeing the Toronto show as well. We were not disappointed! The cast was incredible, and while some of the sketches left a bit to be desired, stay at the end for the improv--this is where the cast members really shined! Some of the improv was so well-done, it seemed scripted! The only downside is how closely they seat you...we shared a table for 2 with two strangers, and forget about getting up for anything once the show has begun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second City Toronto also viewed

 

Been to Second City Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second City Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.