We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“buyer beware no more, what a lovely trip !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Ship Kajama

Tall Ship Kajama
Queen's Quay and Lower Simcoe St | Behind the Harbourfront Centre, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
+1 416-260-6355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 164 Activities in Toronto
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 165-foot three masted schooner offers non-guided tours of the Toronto harbor on Lake Ontario from the start of May to the end of September. Day and Evening Cruises Available.
Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“buyer beware no more, what a lovely trip !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had previously written a review based on my parent's bad experience per having shown up for their trip and being told they were infact sailing on a much smaller boat.

After having a very productive back and forth with the manager, we were invited as guests to the ship with my parents for a cruise. Here is my first hand experience.

When you book your trip, make sure at the top of your reservation form it says Kajama, or better yet, call before you book to make sure the Kajama is not booked for a private funtion that day.

When you arrive, you will need to check in and wait to be boarded. When you board, you will be photographed for a souvineer picture, yes, just like Wonderland, the CN tower, Niagara Falls and Medieval Times you will have to PAY for this picture, it's not an outrageous request people. $15, if you don't want it politely decline.

When you get on the boat, it's about 30 min till you will be leaving. So, go find a seat, either on the rail or the raised boxes in the middle of the ship. There are also plastic chairs available should it be a particulary busy day. Once you are moving and moving about the ship, don't expect to keep the same seat you had to begin with.

Get ready to set sail.. or motor actually !

As you motor out of the harbour, you get to get a stunning view of downtown Toronto, no really, it's stunning. Once you are in open water, it's time to hoist the sail. Quite the production really. We had a very windy day on the water, which made it more difficult to hoist the sails than on a calm day. If you want, you can help hoist the sails, no easy task, they are quite heavy, but many hands can make light work of the chore so get in there !

Now, the point of going for a sail, for those of you who have never done so is this. Enjoy it. That's all. Just enjoy the wind, the water and the sights, close your eyes and take it in. If you can't just sit back and relax, head to the bar and order some drink and food. It's just munchie food. If you want fancy, or don't want to pay for food aboard ship, bring a snack with you or eat after the ship docks somewhere else. Honestly, just plan ahead. If you are peckish the fries were quite good !

Roam about the ship, go to the bow, just to say you are king of lake ontario..if only for a minute or two. Go meet the captian and steer the wheel, it's not just there for looks, it actually steers, but ask first. Go below deck, where they have a small dining room. A good place to eat your snack, or get out of the wind for a few minutes. Go mingle with the others on ship and meet the crew member with the black binder, she is, if you are interested, giving a history of the ship and how it got to Toronto, and interesting story, with pictures.

The sail is for an hour and a half. If you have a wind, you will actually get to sail, if not you will be motoring, unless you want to be stuck and stranded till the wind picks up again. If you have ever have sailed you know how important it is to have that motor if the wind dies down.

Now, a tip for everyone, when you are near the water, it's about 5 degrees celcius cooler than everywhere else in the city, when you are on the water, it's closer to 10 degrees celcius cooler than everywhere else PLUS a wind. SO, even if on shore it's stunning, please bring a warm jacket, if you have children with you, a toque, and a blanket. Adults should also bring a hat, baseball or a toque to keep warm. I can't express how important that is.

Overall a great experience. And as with most things it is what you make of it. If you are not the type of person who can sit back and watch the world go by for an hour and a half without going stir crazy, this is not the outing for you.

Otherwise I would happily suggest this outing to others.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDWells, Manager at Tall Ship Kajama, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sherri and Paul

Thank you so much for coming out again to enjoy the real Kajama experience. It was great meeting you and you beautiful twins. I really do appreciate you taking the time to right both the reviews. I took the points you mentioned very seriously and I'm glad we were able to fix the issues you mentioned.
All the best Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    152
    59
    21
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tall Ship Kajama Toronto Harbour Cruise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The weather and view of the Toronto skyline was very good, but that was the best of it. The ship is old(1930) and a little interesting to look at, but that goes away quickly. Unfortunately for us, there was no wind that day, so the crew basically wasted their time putting the sails up, but that was something to watch. However, at no time during the 60 min cruise did the crew talk about what we were seeing. i have been on cruises in several major cities in various countries, and they always have a commentator or similar. i found the lack of information to be the major downfall on this cruise and would not do it again. The food and drink prices were no deal either, but i guess that is nothing new at tourist attractions. Poor rating may be a bit harsh, but below expectations for sure.

Discount Dan

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrDWells, Manager at Tall Ship Kajama, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Dan

Just wanted to touch base after discussing your cruise last year. I most certainly took your comments into consideration and have tried to make changes for the better. We do not offer a narrated tour on Kajama as we want to provide more of a sailing experience. Obviously if there is no wind available it is difficult to not use the motor. We do sail as much as we possibly can and we do our best to provide guests with a great sail. Sorry you didn't have a great experience we hope you will give us a chance this year to change that opinion.

Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Look at the city from the different angle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a lot of fun sailing along the shore on the great sunny day! The crew did their best to please the passengers. Especially we enjoyed their song, when the guys were winding the ropes. Just one improvement may be done. At the beginning, when the passengers boarded the ship, the photographer took the pics of every group, holding the others. As a result we departed with a 25 min delay. The rest was OK. It is really worth trying.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful big ship sailing experience on a perfect sunny day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was a family outing during last week of August on a perfect sunny day in Toronto. Very fun seeing the lake front landmarks and watching airplanes departing and arriving. Nice sailing experience on a big ship and for talking and eating. Well worth the price.

The food is surprisingly good on board and so reasonable in prices. Most definitely recommend getting some food. Also, there are three time slots in the day and I would recommend the first schedule since less people and just lunch time on board, perfect.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We live in Toronto and we were looking for something to do with my parents who were visiting from out of town. This cruise was exactly what we were looking for - it was a beautiful day (Sunday of Labour Day weekend), it was only 1.5 hours so didn't take up our whole day and the added bonus was we saw parts of the airshow going on at the Ex. It is a really nice boat, the staff are friendly, and the bar has an excellent range of beer. :) If you are looking for a nice way to spend the afternoon and be out on the water, this is it. If you want a 'tour' cruise where someone is constantly talking and pointing out the sights, this isn't for you. Vey enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Ship Kajama also viewed

 

Been to Tall Ship Kajama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Ship Kajama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.