We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful big ship sailing experience on a perfect sunny day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Ship Kajama

Tall Ship Kajama
Queen's Quay and Lower Simcoe St | Behind the Harbourfront Centre, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
+1 416-260-6355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 281 Activities in Toronto
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 165-foot three masted schooner offers non-guided tours of the Toronto harbor on Lake Ontario from the start of May to the end of September. Day and Evening Cruises Available.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful big ship sailing experience on a perfect sunny day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was a family outing during last week of August on a perfect sunny day in Toronto. Very fun seeing the lake front landmarks and watching airplanes departing and arriving. Nice sailing experience on a big ship and for talking and eating. Well worth the price.

The food is surprisingly good on board and so reasonable in prices. Most definitely recommend getting some food. Also, there are three time slots in the day and I would recommend the first schedule since less people and just lunch time on board, perfect.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    159
    63
    22
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We live in Toronto and we were looking for something to do with my parents who were visiting from out of town. This cruise was exactly what we were looking for - it was a beautiful day (Sunday of Labour Day weekend), it was only 1.5 hours so didn't take up our whole day and the added bonus was we saw parts of the airshow going on at the Ex. It is a really nice boat, the staff are friendly, and the bar has an excellent range of beer. :) If you are looking for a nice way to spend the afternoon and be out on the water, this is it. If you want a 'tour' cruise where someone is constantly talking and pointing out the sights, this isn't for you. Vey enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice mellow trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

People complaining about the engine power: It's supposed to be a two hour tour, so be thankful for that engine/wind power combo. I've had the wind die on my unpowered sailboat many times, and been adrift for hours before deciding to paddle to make some pitiful distance and combat boredom. Enjoy it for what it is!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I find it incredible that anyone would have a bad experience aboard the Kajama. This venue offers a one and a half hour cruise.through the Western gap and out into the lake and back. Anyone who would be expecting the service and amenities of a five star cruise ship would surely be disappointed. However if a quaint little jaunt through the harbour to view the sights of the ever changing Toronto skyline on a lazy summer day, this is definitely for you.

The food isn't gourmet but rather a variety of fast food favorites are offered up. The food is as good as any fast food and reasonably priced. Not only that you can was it down with a cold brew or a glass of wine if these are you preferences.

The cruise is sedate and enjoyable for all ages. No Gravel or sea bands needed. Definitely an attraction
worth looking into.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had booked this trip from the UK and it was worth the wait. The ship itself is beautiful and though it was actually quite a still day and the motor kept us moving, the sails went up with the help of any volunteer passengers and this is a marvellous site. The ship then sails out onto Lake Ontario and you have a marvellous view of the Toronto skyline. Refreshments are available at a reasonable price and all the crew members were very friendly and informative. A lovely trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Ship Kajama also viewed

 

Been to Tall Ship Kajama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Ship Kajama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.