We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great afternoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Ship Kajama

Tall Ship Kajama
Queen's Quay and Lower Simcoe St | Behind the Harbourfront Centre, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
+1 416-260-6355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 158 activities in Toronto
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 165-foot three masted schooner offers non-guided tours of the Toronto harbor on Lake Ontario from the start of May to the end of September. Day and Evening Cruises Available.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We live in Toronto and we were looking for something to do with my parents who were visiting from out of town. This cruise was exactly what we were looking for - it was a beautiful day (Sunday of Labour Day weekend), it was only 1.5 hours so didn't take up our whole day and the added bonus was we saw parts of the airshow going on at the Ex. It is a really nice boat, the staff are friendly, and the bar has an excellent range of beer. :) If you are looking for a nice way to spend the afternoon and be out on the water, this is it. If you want a 'tour' cruise where someone is constantly talking and pointing out the sights, this isn't for you. Vey enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    9
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice mellow trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

People complaining about the engine power: It's supposed to be a two hour tour, so be thankful for that engine/wind power combo. I've had the wind die on my unpowered sailboat many times, and been adrift for hours before deciding to paddle to make some pitiful distance and combat boredom. Enjoy it for what it is!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I find it incredible that anyone would have a bad experience aboard the Kajama. This venue offers a one and a half hour cruise.through the Western gap and out into the lake and back. Anyone who would be expecting the service and amenities of a five star cruise ship would surely be disappointed. However if a quaint little jaunt through the harbour to view the sights of the ever changing Toronto skyline on a lazy summer day, this is definitely for you.

The food isn't gourmet but rather a variety of fast food favorites are offered up. The food is as good as any fast food and reasonably priced. Not only that you can was it down with a cold brew or a glass of wine if these are you preferences.

The cruise is sedate and enjoyable for all ages. No Gravel or sea bands needed. Definitely an attraction
worth looking into.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had booked this trip from the UK and it was worth the wait. The ship itself is beautiful and though it was actually quite a still day and the motor kept us moving, the sails went up with the help of any volunteer passengers and this is a marvellous site. The ship then sails out onto Lake Ontario and you have a marvellous view of the Toronto skyline. Refreshments are available at a reasonable price and all the crew members were very friendly and informative. A lovely trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lame experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Went on the kajama and I suppose shame on me. You board the boat and grab a seat ( first they ask if you'd like a photo-we pass-15 bucks for a pic) They give you a quick safety overview and we're off. They start to raise the sails and ask for volunteers - a few people help. And we're sailing...sort of...the motor of the boat is actually powering us.

So we're about 10 minutes in and I'm drinking a beer - thinking when is it going to start. Then 20 minutes and so on they've passed out food menus if you'd like - but I still am waiting for something informative.

Fast forward 90 minutes and were back at dock.

Not one piece of commentary, not one piece of information. It was basically come on the boat we'll look at the Toronto coast and then turn around and come back.

There must be better experiences out there.

As a point of reference I'm a 29 year male who was traveling with a girl.

Maybe the older and younger crowd would like it more...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tall Ship Kajama also viewed

 

Been to Tall Ship Kajama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Ship Kajama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tall Ship Kajama to your Saves list