We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was expecting more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Future Bistro

Future Bistro
483 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1Y2, Canada
416-922-5875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,652 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“was expecting more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was lured in by the beer and outdoor seating. My blond beer was a bit warmish. My mushroom and swiss omelette had canned mushrooms. The entire meal was like eating at applebees in an airport. The server was attentive and had great timing. The price was reasonable, Good if you have to eat somewhere, but are not a foodie.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dowling, Ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife & I, both Seniors, stumbled on to this place for both breakfast & dinner. The menu is varied & the food is great, portions large. Menu on the wall, place & pay for order, sit & wait to be called, collect order & cutlery & return to seat. Customers consists of students, business people & seniors like us. Seems to be constantly busy. Located at corner of Bloor St. W. & Brunswick Ave.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Get a cake card!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Futures does have a hot food counter for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but the real reason to choose this restaurant is for dessert. They have so many cakes, cookies and pastries to choose from. There is usually a bit of a line to order, and it sometimes a little slow as people can take a while to choose what they want. If you're planning on going back, get a cake card. As you buy slices, you get a stamp towards a free slice of cake!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Future Bistro has good food at fair prices. It is not fine dining, but then I am not a fine diner. It is not far from the University and has a large student clientele.In summer, you can sit outside and take in the pleasant Bloor Street crowds.The coffee is also very good. The staff are pleasant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great toronto secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This bistro was introduced to me when i was studying in toronto a few years ago and is a must eat each time i revisit my old stomping ground. Its a great place to catch up with friends over a hot apple cider and slab of cake or to grab a tasty and filling meal at any time of day. Catering to the student market populating the annex, Futures is the epitome of vale for money and offers a huge variety of german, eastern european and everyday classics for all tastebuds. Their chicken schnitzel snd wednesday all you can eat perogies in particular are always firm favourites. They also offer one of the widest selections of cakes, pies and tarts in the city and, just with their hot food, live by the mantra "if you're going to have one, have a big 'un!"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Future Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Future Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Future Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.