We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel -- noisy club across the road...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Toronto to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel -- noisy club across the road...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at Le Germain for our 10th wedding anniversary. Upon check in we were very pleased with our room. While not overly spacious, it was just enough for us and the bathroom was fantastic -- oversized with a separate water closet for the toilet. The walk in shower with rain-shower head was to die for. The king sized bed was lovely.

Our room faced South and thus we had a rude awakening around 1.00am on the Saturday morning. The pounding bass and street noise from the popular club across the street was absolutely intolerable. It was only in the morning when we discovered the discretely placed ear plugs in the bed stand...the disruption lasted for almost 2 hours.

But thankfully we were able to sleep in and enjoy the serene dining area and vast complimentary breakfast offered by the Germain. Well attended staff kept beverages flowing and the food was excellent.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    123
    36
    9
    11
See reviews for
55
208
24
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

My husband and I stay here on our wedding anniversary every year... need I say more :) The room, the atmosphere, the staff are all fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

When I arrive in my room at the Germain, I immediately let out a huge ahhhh! The bed is fantastic, the food at Victor is unsurpassed (tonight I had Tuna Confit) and they always have great jazz playing upon arrive in the room. It is a welcome retreat after travelling. Impecable service from all the staff. Complete and ultimate care!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Beautiful location, hotel and experience. Lovely room and lobby with extremely friendly and helpful staff. No complaints at all with the exception of a turndown service which was missed.

Unlike some previous entries we found the room to be perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific nw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed one night at the Le Germain and found the staff helpful and pleasant. The hotel has a contemporary look, i.e. the seating in the lobby was more design than comfort. Our room had a glass wall for the washroom/shower which allowed much needed light; the toiletries were Aveda and the king size bed cosy with a thick douvet. A substantial "continental" breakfast was a very nice addition (boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, caps & espresso.) Being our first time in Toronto, we did not know the lay of the land. This hotel is perfect to be near the theatre district, it is actually located just across the street from Second City and down the block from Wayne Gretzky's restaurant. Also, within a few blocks is a grocery store, a drug store and two ok Italian restaurants. For seeing museums & shopping at the Eaton Centre, a hotel along Bloor Ave. would have been a better choice for us. I would recommend this hotel, but for $C255/night we spent too much additional money taking taxis to where we really wanted to be which was to the museums.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Le Germain for a week in November this year. We were primarily there for a business trip, but also held a birthday party for my wife Le Germain's Apartment Suite.

The Apartment Suite was the perfect place to hold a small party (12 people) and we loved that Le Germain didn't give us any trouble when we brought in our own food and liquor for our get-together. The staff was very helpful in getting things set up and making sure we had enough dishes in the kitchen, etc. We had a fabulous night and would definitely book there again for that kind of event.

For the rest of our stay, we had a standard room with a king bed. The room itself was very spacious and beautifully decorated - it felt very luxurious. It was also very quiet. There were plenty of closets and drawers, even in the bathroom, which is great when you're staying for a week. The staff was very solicitous and friendly and brought anything we needed quickly.

The room set-up wasn't very convenient for more than one person working or dining - there was a small desk, a desk chair and a big armchair. They were happy to bring us an extra chair, but it was still crowded - funny, given the size of the room. Also, the TV didn't pull out or swivel, so if you wanted to watch TV and eat dinner, you had to eat on the bed. Not that important and not the kind of thing you would care about during a short stay - but for a longer stay, it was a little inconvenient.

Speaking of the bed - I'm not usually fussy about mattresses, but I personally found our bed the most uncomfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Too hard for me and it took nearly a week after our stay for the kink to disappear from my neck.

We were both working in the room at times and found both the wireless internet and the actual internet port very unstable. Our room was at the end of the hall, far from the elevators. If you're there for business, I would suggest staying closer to the middle, to make sure you have a good internet connection.

Breakfast was included and was always a lovely continental spread. Coffee was divine and the breakfast staff were really lovely.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay - I would definitely stay there again for a shorter time or a special occasion. And it's a great location - close to transit, restaurants, movie theatre, live theatre, etc.

  • Liked — The beautiful room decor and the fantastic lobby
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed, iffy internet connection
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

I travel extensively and find myself in Toronto about ten times a year. My home base is in California and usually by the time I arrive at hotel le germain I’m very tired and ready to hit the sack. This is when I find the first of the three things I love about the hotel: the bed. The pillows are soft and pliable, the comforter warm and cozy and the mattress is like sleeping on a cloud. In the morning I awake and experience the second joy of le germain: the shower. It’s an unbelievable cascade of overhead water (not from the side as most conventional showers) that warms you through and through. Then, it’s on to the third thing I love at the hotel: the free breakfast. Crepes, fresh fruit, muffins, cheeses and nuts served by some of the nicest people I’ve ever met. I love the germain… and after staying at other hotels in the area won’t ever go back to them again. The price point is perfect for the services I receive.

  • Liked — The bed, the shower, the breakfast.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.