We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Toronto Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Toronto to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Toronto Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at Le Germain in early April. Nicely appointed rooms. The view leaves a bit to be desired because of the location. The staff was very accommodating. LOVED the bathtub! Convenient location, especially since Toronto is such a walkable city. Would definitely stay here again. I would also recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    123
    36
    9
    11
See reviews for
55
208
24
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely hotel, very quiet, good location. We took our two children with us and asked for connecting rooms but to our surprised, it was even better than that. It was a corner room, and when we opened the door, it led us to 2 separate doors side by side, one master bedroom and the other a lovely double. The first door was more like a door to our own front hall. Perfect if you have young children so you can actually leave your doors open to keep an eye on them.
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated, loved the bathrooms, with a sensor night light underneath the glass sink. The walk in shower was huge, and the bath just perfect. There's a great little mexican cafe just around the corner. Lots of restaurants around.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here over a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary - go to the theatre and a Jays game. Hotel is conveniently located in close proximity to most major restaurants, Sky Dome and the theatre district (walking distance). We enjoyed that it was set back from the major intersections so it was quiet at night, without too many neon lights.
The staff at Le Germain was extremely friendly and helpful, we did not have any negative experiences. The hotel itself is very trendy, clean, modern.
Our room was extremely nice, spacious and well-kept during our stay. We loved the extra bathroom amenities, and homey-feel. Our bed was extra-comfortable, with a pillow-menu.
Breakfast was included, and lovely, served all morning :) A nice extra.
The only thing I would have liked would have been a coffee maker in the room, which is something I'm used to having when I wake up! But not a deal breaker. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I recently stayed at Le Germain for several days on business. I work in advertising, and it's always been a staple for those in the industry.

Overall the hotel is very good. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The bed is big and comfy, providing a good night's sleep. The bathroom facilities are very nice, although I do like to have a tub in the room, not just a shower. But the shower is very good. For these reasons this is a hotel worth staying at.

Also, the location is great. Close to a lot of things (restaurants, shopping, theatres) and I liked that I was able to just pop out to a Bluejays game a few blocks away after a day at work. A nice thing to do when in a strange city.

I stayed here before a few years ago and was pleased with the breakfast options. This time it was disappointing. Very minimal options that grow tired after your second day. It's almost a reason for me to stay at another hotel the next time.

My other issue was that the remote for the TV didn't work properly. And when I got the hotel engineers to come up and fix it they were dismissive of the issue, which really annoyed me. It's not a big deal for one night, but when you're staying for several it's frustrating.

The front desk staff and other personnel were very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Jack_Shaw,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Feedback like yours helps us improve our guest experience and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We do offer rooms with bath and shower combination so please don’t hesitate to mention this preference at time of booking. Please accept my apologies regarding the TV remote , I will share your comment with our maintenance department.

In regards to breakfast, we offer a wide variety of pastries, fresh fruit, croissants, bagels, cheeses and selection of coffee and I am sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please contact me at your convenience and I would be happy to discuss the breakfast offering and any recommendation you may have.

Best Regards

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Best location and hotel in Toronto, a lot of restaurants around. The service is always good and profesional. Room service always quick. You feel like home with the bedroom and the bathroom. The breakfast is good, healthy and easy to serve yourself, you can choose what you want and the employees are the best, always ready to bring your coffee. I recommand this hotel to everyone, pleasure, family and business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valerie L,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are always looking to create a home away from home feel with professional yet friendly service and I am happy that we were able to deliver that experience. We are indeed located close to restaurants, theater and attractions making us an ideal choice for both business and leisure. We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is located in a great position for exploring Toronto. Upon arrival, following a long flight, the reception staff made sure we were checked in efficiently and even gave us a couple of bottles of water - very much appreciated.

The hotel has a sort of 'modern-boutique' feel, even though it is a part of a chain. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and tidy.

Our room was spacious and very nice with all mod cons. A slightly bizarre feature was a glass wall adjacent to the bath....with a venetian blind on the bedroom side!! Hilarious!!

Apples and water dispensers are welcome features....if you stay you'll know what I mean.

Breakfast was taken on the first floor, just off the atrium overlooking the mezzanine and reception. A good selection of produce is offered and the staff are very efficient.

A short walk from the hotel will take you to several restaurants, shops and, a little further, the CN Tower and Rogers Centre. The tour bus has a stop just around the corner too.

In conclusion, a great place for a comfortable stay in Toronto which I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a truly excellent hotel to stay. Its located very close to some fantastic restaurants and 10 minutes away from Porter Airport. The staff are so helpful and made everything effortless. The rooms a superb with a great waterfall shower and Molton Brown products with a king size bed and great little touches such as a vanity station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.