We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Toronto to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Norwich, Canada
1 review
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed last night at this hotel for our 15th wedding anniversary!! Great place, friendly staff, and very clean rooms. We would like to personally thank Jamie Hahhas at the front desk for accompanying us with a room on very short notice and sending a very nice bottle of red wine to our room for our anniversary. We highly recommend this place!!

Henk and Michelle Vrugteveen

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    123
    36
    9
    11
See reviews for
55
208
24
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Just blocks to CN tower and baseball stadium and only a few more to shops and restaurants in King and Queen West. Free breakfast was fresh and plenty and went till noon which was awesome. Rooms were clean and spacious, bathroom was huge! Service was exceptional. The only negative was hearing street noise at 2am on Sat night, but that's why they provide earplugs!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

First time in Toronto - wanted a modern sleek hip hotel - and boy that's what this is!
Possibly the best hotel room ever - seemed huge - with the best shower / bathroom area.
Tall ceilings and great large window - couldn't really have asked for better.
Great location too.
Only one on the negative side - the hotel has no atmosphere at all - even the bar area.
So when you leave you're not sure if they've noticed you've been there at all!
This could be one of those GREAT places to stay - maybe it's more happening in the summer?

Without any hestitaion I would stay here again - and suggest you do too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Actually, the hotel is nice, relatively new and comfortable BUT:

- there is a night club across the street which I understand can be noisy then ask for a room overlooking the back.
- the night club was actually closed when I was there but the alarm of the club went off and it took until past midnight to stop it with the intervention of the police. The staff at reception was not too helpful to give me an idea of when it would stop or offering relocation to the back. Couldn't sleep obviously.
- and now the icing on the cake: at 3am someone bangs at my door for at least 10 minutes until I come out of my sleep. I go to the door and find a voluptuous woman who was certainly working that night but got the wrong room.

The GM was very nice and apologetic the next morning but all this excitement is not exactly what I was looking for.

Hope this is an isolated event since - once again - the hotel seems nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Francois K,

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience during your stay. We tried to get in touch with the club as soon as the alarm went off but since it was closed for renovation we were not able to and had to call the Toronto Police to shut off the alarm. This is indeed an isolated event and not typical of stay at our hotel. When your travels bring you to Toronto again , I invite you to contact me and I will personally take care of your reservation and make sure you experience the true Germain Hospitality.

Best Regards

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

In this hotel, together with my son I spent the weekend in the middle of March. The hotel is very quiet in a small street near the CN tower. The staff is very nice and courteous, quality service perfect. Room was nice and very tastefully decorated including details with bathrooms. We were satisfied with our stay, only my son had single complaint to breakfast, he lacked wider choice of meat products of breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a great hotel in downtown Toronto. It is located across the street from Second City Comedy club on Mercer street between King and Queen streets. Getting around is very easy from this location. The hotel is modern contemporary with a beautiful lounge area off of the lobby when you walk in. The rooms ( we had king executive)was very roomy with a very comfortable king bed, lounge chair and desk. The is a TV cabinet with attached coffee/bar area and a double wardrobe/sitting area at the entry. The bathroom is modern with a separate toilet area. The shower is enclosed with tempered glass including the wall that it shares with the bedroom (there is a wooden blind that can be closed from the bedroom side for privacy). We had breakfast included and it is served in a nice area on the mezzanine level. It is a very pleasing breakfast with homemade granola cereals, milk and yogurts - boiled eggs, ham, fresh cheeses, dried fruits - fresh fruits jams and jellies, fresh juices, various breads and bagels for toasting - and made to order teas, coffees, lattes, espresso and herbal teas! Overall very satisfying.
The room was very quiet even on the street side( we were on 6th floor).
There is a restaurant Called Victors on the ground floor (reviewed separately)
This was a very good experience for the first try...I will be back as I did not feel like a number in a huge corporately run hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is one of my favourite hotel brands. Period. I love all their hotels. Both properties in Toronto are great and the one in Calgary is brilliant too. It's everything I want in a hotel - modern room decor and design, great free Wifi, lovely European style breakfast (included with rate), great spa bathroom, nice people... what's not to love.

Room Tip: The rooms have rainfall shower heads which aren't good if you are a chick, like me, who doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.