We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST IMPRESSIONS MEAN A LOT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Toronto to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FIRST IMPRESSIONS MEAN A LOT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner,and i first stayed in le GERMAIN last year.It was a little bit of an effort to get there due to construction,and one-way streets,but that is not their doing.We could not get over the staffs efforts to accomidate us.The rooms were fantastic,and the continental breakfast was more than sufficiant.Would like to have bacon on the menu,but not a deal breaker.The only thing that we did not appreciate was being told they had valet parking,but not how much it was until checkout ($45.00) seemed a little bit high.We are going to try the other GERMAIN when we go to Toronto next.Also with being right across the road from the night clubs,the noise level was a bit much,but not overwhelming.When we went back for a second stay at the same location,we were automatically upgraded to a better room than last.Great business call.

Room Tip: We have been in two of the rooms available,and have nothing but good raves about both.Work desk,phon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    123
    36
    9
    11
See reviews for
55
208
24
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I recently stayed at Le Germain and unfortunately my companion became seriously ill whilst in Toronto. She was admitted to hospital and I had to extend my stay for a further four days. The staff could not have been more attentive or helpful. They managed to enable me to keep my original room and were most understanding and helpful throughout the stressful time. I can only say the manageress and her staff were first rate. A delightful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking Mercer Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

this was my fourth or fifth stay at the lovely hotel in the middle of Toronto. Most of my stays have been related to work but i could definitely see staying here with my wife for a weekend away. The rooms are lovely, service is great and location perfect either for business or theatre. Definitely worth the money. btw, the weekend breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is absolutely everything we expected . The atmosphere , accommodations and room , top grade. Breakfast was more than sufficient. The single complaint was the location as it is directly across from numerous nite clubs . The weekend crowd was loud and kept us up late.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director Of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Drooks1,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am glad to hear that the atmosphere, accommodation and room was to your liking. Being in the entertainment district close to theaters and restaurants, the area does get lively over the weekend but we do work with local business to keep the noise down. In the future please do not hesitate to contact the front desk in case of noise concern and we can look at different options including moving you to a different part of the Hotel. We Look forward to welcoming you back!.

Regards

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Came to the city for two nights without the kidlets. Stayed at Le Germain for the first time. Loved it! Cozy lobby with complimentary tea and coffee and a real fireplace. Breakfast included with fresh oatmeal, french croissants, boiled eggs, smoked salmon. Complimentary wifi in the room. Shower wall is window to bedroom, has awesome rain faucet and great shampoo and conditioner. Right across the street from Second City comedy house which was a blast. Went for dinner one night at Terroni on Adelaide ($9 cab ride) and the second night at Jacob and Co. Steakhouse ($6 cab ride). Both delish. Saw Les Mis matinee on Friday which was just around the corner from Le Germain. And did some Boxing Day sale shopping in Yorkville at Anthropologie (12 min drive). Overall, great location, great service, great experience. Would love to go back. Until next time...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the theatre district. It is literally steps away from the Princess of Wales theatre. The lobby is inviting with a cozy fireplace and the staff is very friendly. My husband especially loved the Nespresso machine in the room and the free wi-fi. The bathroom and shower are very contemporary. The bed and pillows are extremely comfortable. My only complaint would be the quality of the toilet paper and the tissues. With the cost of staying at this hotel, I would expect paper products of a better quality than I can find at the Super 8.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Mercer street as there are 2 nightclubs directly across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stay here every few months for business. Friendly, classy staff. Superfast checkins. Stylish rooms. Warm lobby with fireplace. Great room service. Fast, free, reliable wifi. I can't find a thing wrong with this hotel. If you've read my other reviews, that's a first for me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.