We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Crash Pad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mercer St., Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #10 of 142 hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anniversary Crash Pad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We loved this place. The staff are all friendly and the room and front lobby hangout are clean, quiet, cozy, warm and hip. Nice touch having the coffee/cappucino machine in the room and front lobby. Great location in the city - in the thick of it all, but really quiet considering. Loved the breakfast - simple but sustaining. A very nice treat in the form of an unsolicited dessert was waiting for us in our room to wish us a happy anniversary - a really nice touch. All in all a great landing pad for visiting Toronto - wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    114
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
189
22
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been planning to stay at this hotel for some time know since I read a glowing review when it opened in TO. From the interior design perspective it's a beaitiful boutique hotel although the rooms show some wear and tear. We had a deluxe room with a shower only on the 8th floor facing King Street. The room was spacious and very functional with lots of room to move about, plenty of storage for everything, and many thoughtful details like an umbrella, robes, and even a magnifying vanity mirror. Check-in/out was very smooth, breakfast - healthy and more than sufficient, and common areas were well laid out and decorated. That's where the hotel's 4 stars are well deserved.
The main reason that I rated my stay as only Average is because it was lacking in a comfortable sleep department and for me it's a big factor. The mattress was too firm for my comfort and the pillow top was somewhat slim so I could not get comfortable. And to top that up I could hear traffic on King St, particularly emergency vehicles, all night long. In other words, no sweet dreams in my dream hotel, which is too bad because Le Germain has a lot going for it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a two weeks business trip, staying the Weekend in Toronto was really nice. When the Hotel is in the middle of the City Center, nice rooms, good breakfast and not badly priced. There are some building activity on one side of the hotel, but we were never bothered by noise. Ask for rooms away from that side. Also got good help from the staff, both with parking of the car and with different activities to do in Toronto.

Room Tip: Away from the construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Arteta_10

Thank you for your feedback, our hotel is indeed in the entertainment district within walking distance to the business district making it ideal for both business and leisure. As with any growing city we have construction in our neighbourhood but we work with the city and neighbouring business to keep the impact to a minimum and I'm glad that you were not affected by it. I will make sure to share your comments with our team and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Contemporary hotel with beautiful rooms and anazing bathrooms; good meeting facilities. Average continental breakfast. Reasonable service. Ok location. Nothing negative to report. Could not evaluate the quality of service due to short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary this past weekend.

I love the Le Germain brand of hotels, love the central location on Mercer St. The hotel is older than the Maple Leaf Square sister property, but Le Germain Toronto has the better location.

Top 3 reasons why I'm loyal to the Le Germain brand:

1. Luxurious, contemporary, well thought-out amenities. From room aesthetics, to the Bose player, to the awesome shower, to the personal touches (thank you for the dessert tray and the card!)

2. Discreet but attentive customer service. Never over the top. They are there when you need them, not in your face when you don't, never ever have to wait too long for anything.

3. Always feels like the Germain hotels are there just for us - very personalized. Not convention-like, nor crowded. It feels very very intimate.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a very high floor. We stayed Saturday night and was not bothered by neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the lobby, to the spacious hall ways, to the rooms, it was just right and os so very sleek. I see other reviewers commenting on the bed linens and they are right. The hotel staff are helpful and give good tips on what to do and what to see. If you are on business, this place is for you. Good breakfast included in the price, including good croissants and lattes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street. it will be more quiet for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just utterly luxurious.
Shower is up there with the very best.
Beds super comfy
Free super fast easy internet
Nice free breakfast
central location
valet parking (expensive)
Only complaint would be it was rather noisy at night -somebody got blocked in and kept
beeping his horn for the longest time. Not the hotel's fault of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Address: 30 Mercer St., Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experienceGroupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home.A local artistic flavourYou'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators.A welcome like no otherHotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.