We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and yet...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Germain Toronto to your Saves list
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and yet...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been planning to stay at this hotel for some time know since I read a glowing review when it opened in TO. From the interior design perspective it's a beaitiful boutique hotel although the rooms show some wear and tear. We had a deluxe room with a shower only on the 8th floor facing King Street. The room was spacious and very functional with lots of room to move about, plenty of storage for everything, and many thoughtful details like an umbrella, robes, and even a magnifying vanity mirror. Check-in/out was very smooth, breakfast - healthy and more than sufficient, and common areas were well laid out and decorated. That's where the hotel's 4 stars are well deserved.
The main reason that I rated my stay as only Average is because it was lacking in a comfortable sleep department and for me it's a big factor. The mattress was too firm for my comfort and the pillow top was somewhat slim so I could not get comfortable. And to top that up I could hear traffic on King St, particularly emergency vehicles, all night long. In other words, no sweet dreams in my dream hotel, which is too bad because Le Germain has a lot going for it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    123
    36
    9
    11
See reviews for
55
208
24
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a two weeks business trip, staying the Weekend in Toronto was really nice. When the Hotel is in the middle of the City Center, nice rooms, good breakfast and not badly priced. There are some building activity on one side of the hotel, but we were never bothered by noise. Ask for rooms away from that side. Also got good help from the staff, both with parking of the car and with different activities to do in Toronto.

Room Tip: Away from the construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Arteta_10

Thank you for your feedback, our hotel is indeed in the entertainment district within walking distance to the business district making it ideal for both business and leisure. As with any growing city we have construction in our neighbourhood but we work with the city and neighbouring business to keep the impact to a minimum and I'm glad that you were not affected by it. I will make sure to share your comments with our team and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Contemporary hotel with beautiful rooms and anazing bathrooms; good meeting facilities. Average continental breakfast. Reasonable service. Ok location. Nothing negative to report. Could not evaluate the quality of service due to short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary this past weekend.

I love the Le Germain brand of hotels, love the central location on Mercer St. The hotel is older than the Maple Leaf Square sister property, but Le Germain Toronto has the better location.

Top 3 reasons why I'm loyal to the Le Germain brand:

1. Luxurious, contemporary, well thought-out amenities. From room aesthetics, to the Bose player, to the awesome shower, to the personal touches (thank you for the dessert tray and the card!)

2. Discreet but attentive customer service. Never over the top. They are there when you need them, not in your face when you don't, never ever have to wait too long for anything.

3. Always feels like the Germain hotels are there just for us - very personalized. Not convention-like, nor crowded. It feels very very intimate.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a very high floor. We stayed Saturday night and was not bothered by neighbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the lobby, to the spacious hall ways, to the rooms, it was just right and os so very sleek. I see other reviewers commenting on the bed linens and they are right. The hotel staff are helpful and give good tips on what to do and what to see. If you are on business, this place is for you. Good breakfast included in the price, including good croissants and lattes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street. it will be more quiet for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just utterly luxurious.
Shower is up there with the very best.
Beds super comfy
Free super fast easy internet
Nice free breakfast
central location
valet parking (expensive)
Only complaint would be it was rather noisy at night -somebody got blocked in and kept
beeping his horn for the longest time. Not the hotel's fault of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I planned a bachelorette/weekend getaway to Toronto for 4 girls and chose Le Germain mainly for the location and modernity of the hotel itself. We were able to walk everywhere we had to go. Despite four of sharing one bathroom and 2 small double beds, there was plenty of space for us to get ready, have drinks, play music and hang out before hitting the town. The included breakfast buffet had a good healthy variety of options, although the service was a bit slow and a touch 'pushy' when we tried getting our own coffee and tea. It wasn't clear this portion of the buffet wasn't self-serve like the rest of it. Hotel was quiet and clean and the little staff we came into contact with was friendly and amenable to a few special requests. Our room was nicely appointed but the sliding door seperating the toilet from the rest of washroom had come off the track before we checked in so if the toilet was in use, the whole bathroom was off limits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DinoGurusamy, Director of Operations at Hotel Le Germain Toronto, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear SinOttawa,

I am glad that you choose to stay with us for your “girls night out” and that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed located within walking distance to most major attractions and restaurants which makes us a perfect spot . I apologize for the maintenance issue in your room and please do not hesitate to contacts the front desk if you need anything as we are just a phone call away. We look forward to welcoming you back

Best

Dino Gurusamy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Germain Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Toronto

Address: 30 Mercer Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1H3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic experience Groupe Germain's philosophy is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. At Hotel Le Germain Toronto, no detail is overlooked to ensure your comfort and meet your needs. Under our roof, you'll find a home away from home. A local artistic flavour You'll enjoy the photographs of Toronto-based artist James Lahey. Tulips in full bloom brighten every room, while pictures of wispy clouds adorn the interior of the elevators. A welcome like no other Hotel Le Germain Toronto shares the same goal as all Le Germain Boutique-hotels: to create a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where the attentive and personalized service is accommodating yet never intrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Germain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.