We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lesser known charcuterie on College, definitely worth a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bestellen

Bestellen
972 College Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
647-341-6769
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bestellen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #328 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dovercourt
Transit: Just east at College and Dovercourt
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lesser known charcuterie on College, definitely worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We enjoyed the charcuterie platter and fried olives as a starter for the table. Very tasty selection! Two of us ordered the burger ... a little salty for me, great for my partner ... both of us set aside the brioche bun .. too sweet with the burger. That said, burger was tasty and juicy, fries were great! The foodies among us ordered the pork and sausage ragu, with polenta. It earned rave reviews from the first mouthful! Chocolate, caramel, and meringue dessert was a delicious finish ... but we should have shared!! Check their website for photos of interior. Reservations are accepted .. they have a choice of chairs or metal stools. Choose chairs, you'll want to linger.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Superbly done Italian home-cooking. Intimate atmosphere. Good service. We go back often. Comfort in the food and in the place itself.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Bring 7 of your closest friends and ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

add a suckling pig !!

We recently did the roasted suckling pig menu and it was fantastic. You need 8 people, but they take care of everything else (except wine). The food is excellent and plentiful from appetizer through to the dessert with the pig being the star. As the pig is the star, they bring it out "as is" for photo opportunities before they carve it up. For 8 people there is more than enough food to go round and left overs to take home. The sides of cauliflower, potatoes, beets are very complementary.
We had a great time and the food exceeded our expectations and we thought the price for the experience was fair ... next we may go back for the duck !!

The one thing that you need to watch is the wine price which can be, but doesn't have to be, expensive. Don't drink by the glass and do a bit of research first as there is good selection at lower price points.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tucked away on the western verges of the College Street dining strip is Bestellen.
I have eaten here a number of times and the food is excellent! Virtually everything is prepared in house right down to the ketchup. The bread and roles as well as all of the pastries and deserts. Now lets get to the meat. All aged on site. All the sausages are cured and then prepared on site.
Great wine list and in my view the best Sunday brunch. it has to be the best value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Bestellen several times and have found the food to be excellent. For the price you get top quality food and the service is outstanding. Today we had the scones to die for, the pancakes where devoured by the grand kids, according to my son the buger is the best he has ever eaten and as a final treat the donuts where finger licking good. One the the best restaurant in Toronto. Keep it up Bestellen, your one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bestellen also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Bestellen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bestellen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.