We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G for Gelato is really GOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G for Gelato

G for Gelato
75 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416 792 1761
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Café, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At G for Gelato, we keep things fresh. We serve delicious Gelato all made in house. But our menu doesn't stop there. We offer pizzas, pastas paninis, soups, salads, pastries and coffee.All of our food is home made, down to the dough for our pizzas and foccacias. We source our vegetables daily from St. Lawrence market, which is down the street, and the freshness of our ingredients can be tasted in every bite. We are licensed! Care for a Cafe Corretto? A glass of wine with your pasta or pizzas; maybe enjoy a cold beer or a martini to go with your favorite gelato flavor.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“G for Gelato is really GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This gelato is excellent! ( and I have eaten a lot of gelato in Italy over the years! ). A family run business based on family recipes - with lots of modern flavour combinations. I like it best when the sister / owners are in the cafe. Super coffee. Just north of the st. Lawrence market and across from St. James Gardens. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    120
    37
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent gelato and espresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

They have a large selection of excellent gelato. The espresso is good also. We did not try the food. I wish we could rate in categories as this place is number one for what it offers but hardly the number on restaurant in Toronto.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The gelato is really good, very big portions but I'm not sure about the service the attendants did not seem friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in the city for almost two years now this was our first visit this establishment. What a great place. We enjoyed wonderful cappuccinos and a prosciutto panini with fresh mozzarella and arigula. Would highly recommend a visit here and the pizza and pasta menu looked delicious. A wonderful selection of gelato, cupcakes and macaroons are also on offer. Will certainly be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate in G for Gelato one evening during a two day stop over in Toronto. It was ideally located across the road from our hotel the Holiday in Express.

Pizzas are out of this world and the ice cream was superb!

My only very minor grumble was the lack of two way conversation from the chap who served us. Maybe he didn't understand my English accent or maybe he was having a bad day! But it was noticeable.

Visit this place for great food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G for Gelato also viewed

 

Been to G for Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G for Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.