We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G for Gelato

G for Gelato
75 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario ON M5C, Canada
+1 416-792-1761
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Ice Cream in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the heart of the historic St. Lawrence Market, G For Gelato and Pizza Bar serves the finest gelato in Toronto, made with recipes passed down in the Polsinelli family for years. From classic roasted pistachio to creative flavor pairings like coconut basil, blueberry lavender, and London Fog (vanilla and Earl Grey tea), we make our gelato using the freshest ingredients and source many seasonal fruits and veggies from local farmers markets. In our cozy, rustic space, we also serve hand-tossed thin crust pizzas as well as foccacia paninis, frittatas, pastas, and fresh salads. Start your morning with our hand-crafted coffee and espresso drinks paired with a sweet pastry, or sit down and enjoy a leisurely lunch with our house favorite funghi pizza, a white pizza topped with mixed mushrooms, fresh arugula, and a drizzle of truffle oil. Need to bring a taste of Italy to your next celebration or corporate luncheon? We also cater and deliver at your convenience. For a sweet break in your day, sit and stay with us at G For Gelato and Pizza Bar for traditional Italian dishes, quiet conversations, and the best gelato in Toronto. We hope to see you soon!
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Having lived in the city for almost two years now this was our first visit this establishment. What a great place. We enjoyed wonderful cappuccinos and a prosciutto panini with fresh mozzarella and arigula. Would highly recommend a visit here and the pizza and pasta menu looked delicious. A wonderful selection of gelato, cupcakes and macaroons are also on offer. Will certainly be back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    52
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate in G for Gelato one evening during a two day stop over in Toronto. It was ideally located across the road from our hotel the Holiday in Express.

Pizzas are out of this world and the ice cream was superb!

My only very minor grumble was the lack of two way conversation from the chap who served us. Maybe he didn't understand my English accent or maybe he was having a bad day! But it was noticeable.

Visit this place for great food!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous gelato!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best gelato we have eaten! Even better than Italy! Portion sizes are huge (excellent!), and reasonably priced.
Also had the pizza- average. Would eat a main meal elsewhere, and go here for dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Decent gelato, but #1 in Toronto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to this place after reading its number #1 ranking on Tripadvisor. We only got Gelato and tea and while the Gelato was good, we didn't think it was any better than other Gelato places in the city. Portions are extremely generous but it's a bit annoying that they put in such small bowls because it's overflowing over the edges by a lot. If you have to walk and eat, you will probably end up with very sticky fingers. Also, the service wasn't good; we asked what one of the unmarked flavours was and he didn't know or make any attempt to figure out what it was. Also, he didn't seem friendly at all with no hint of a smile. Overall, gelato was good. Worth a stop if you're in the neighbourhood and want gelato.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious regular treat for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I adore this place. The flavor options are fantastic and they really know their product. They make them all onsite, and I've even requested a flavor to be made so I can come back the next day to have it. Quality service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G for Gelato also viewed

 

Been to G for Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G for Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.