We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of G for Gelato

G for Gelato
75 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416 792 1761
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: Dessert, Italian, Café, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At G for Gelato, we keep things fresh. We serve delicious Gelato all made in house. But our menu doesn't stop there. We offer pizzas, pastas paninis, soups, salads, pastries and coffee.All of our food is home made, down to the dough for our pizzas and foccacias. We source our vegetables daily from St. Lawrence market, which is down the street, and the freshness of our ingredients can be tasted in every bite. We are licensed! Care for a Cafe Corretto? A glass of wine with your pasta or pizzas; maybe enjoy a cold beer or a martini to go with your favorite gelato flavor.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I spent about a monthliving nearby this fantastic spot. The owner is a good guy that looks after his business and his guests. I enjoyed the coffee, food, service and ambiance of this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    120
    37
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice cream fans: make a special trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I know how pretentious it sounds, but it needs to be said: ice cream made by people who understand food. The flavours were natural and well-developed, not over-sweetened and artificial. The textures and aromas of the ice cream matched the ingredients--the buttery-ness and unique smell of the pistachio was exceptional.

To say that G for Gelato's ice cream is better than Marble Slab's is a gross understatement. My brain started to hurt when I realized their prices are better, too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Somehow lives up to the TripAdvisor #1 hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is ripe for a letdown given it's incredible ranking on TripAdvisor. However, the gelato absolutely delivers. The flavors are bold and precise, so perfectly balanced. We've had the salted caramel, London fog, blueberry lavendar, mint, lemon, banana, and they're all just spectacular. My one suggestion is that they should have suggested pairings when you combine two flavors. The reason is that because the flavors are so rich and bold, sometimes they outshine each other when they are combined. One combination that definitely does work is the blueberry lavender with mint -- my mother in law came up with this and it was genius.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Blueberry Lavender?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The flavour combinations for their gelato are fantastic and original and super delicious!
I was overwhelmed with options, so sheepishly asking for a sample of their blueberry lavender, I was surprised to be presented with a massive sample and smiling face.
I then tried three more kinds before deciding on watermelon passionfruit.
It was awesome!
The portion sizes are enormous, I ordered the small and it was huge!
Friendly service, fantastic flavours! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“G is for great gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Made a special trip here after reading reviews and it was worth the drive! After visiting Italy, had a craving for gelato but I've tried many places before and they didn't compare. This place was the best outside of Italy!

Did not try anything else but they do offer espressos, sandwiches and light snacks.

Super friendly customer service too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G for Gelato also viewed

 

Been to G for Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G for Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.