We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel...just a bit far from downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Save Saved
You added SoHo Metropolitan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SoHo Metropolitan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Wellington St West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 142 hotels in Toronto
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel...just a bit far from downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've always wanted to stay at the Soho Metropolitan, but usually stay at the Fairmont Royal York. Finally I got the chance and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are great and comfortable with wonderful bathrooms that have heated floors. The beds are comfortable and the place feels safe and secure. The staff are friendly and helpful. All around, this is a really great hotel. My only complaint is that it is a bit far from Bay Street so if you are going to stay here on business, leave extra time for the 15 or so minute walk or short cab ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    101
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
23
202
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I was here 3 nights and it was lovely. I choose this hotel based on the tripod visor comments and have no regrets on the choice.
The bed is very comfy, the rooms big and bathroom the dozen of the room! Loved it. The staff were friendly and helpful. I enjoyed walking and this is not central in the city but everything was east to get to.
Housekeeping was lovely. I left a note for them with regards to slight blocked shower drain and wanting another hair dryer and they delivered.
The hair dryers could do with a replacement but other than that cannot complain .
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lance aux Epines
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in Toronto and stayed at the SoHo Met. Wonderful experience all around. Nice room with full kitchen, German appliances. Nicely appointed with only minor hints that the place is not brand new.

Room service was prompt and the food excellent. Prices are on the high side, but the quality more than made up for the small premium.

They are small pet friendly, and that made a big difference to us as we were travelling with our Pug.

The staff are nothing less than excellent in the truest sense of the word. Virtually everyone we met remembered our names (or at least our dog's name) and did their upmost to ensure we were happy all the time. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

From the cool cafe, to the cool rooms - everything in this hotel is 5 star, without a doubt. Having stayed before many years ago - we recently booked in again and things have only got better. The staff are well trained and most obliging, the rooms are what can only be described as total luxury. Food is delicious and its in such a central spot in Toronto that you can walk everywhere. It's not cheap - but it's well worth paying the extra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I felt like I was under dressed just to check in. We had a great time in toronto and would stay at the soHo again. The staff was very nice and the room was excellent. The bathroom was so nice and relaxing. The food was ok. It could have been better for the price. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early and we're upgraded to an Executive Suite. It was huge! And clean! And just gorgeous! The bathroom was large, heated floors, multi head shower system....and the bed super comfy. Location is excellent, walkable to mist things we had scheduled. Only downside is exorbitant price of breakfast....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place is amazing. It's not in the prettiest part of town, but the hotel design is excellent. There was real thought put into designing the rooms. The integrated lighting and blinds system was very good. The lighting for the walk in closet was great. The bathroom was amazing. The tub was designed perfectly for a relaxing soak. The heated floor was a bonus since I went when it was a chilly.

Everything about this room was amazing. The service was very good. Everyone was helpful.

The location was a bit out of the way but it was very convenient to walk to places for dining.

The toiletries were upscale and fabulous. This hotel is one of my favourites. I recommend to everyone who wants to experience quiet luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Address: 318 Wellington St West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#12 Business Hotel in Toronto
#32 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SoHo Metropolitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;