We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, nice rooms and excellent service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SoHo Metropolitan to your Saves list
SoHo Metropolitan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Wellington St West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #11 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pricey, nice rooms and excellent service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here as an impromptu 'stay-cation'. The rooms were nice and well appointed, but I think it's time for a little polishing. They seemed a bit worn for the price being paid. The huge strength of this hotel is the exceptional service offered from the staff. Huge plus!

Bed was comfortable. Lovely bathroom (enjoyed the seperate tub/shower). Ordered room service in the morning and it was good. The pancakes were just slightly warm and that was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    112
    18
    12
    13
See reviews for
24
216
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed at this wonderful hotel when we were in Toronto to get married. The staff was beyond exceptional and the attention to our needs was met with efficiency and class. Rhonda, the concierge was fabulous and our baby (a dachshund named Flygirl) even had her own butler. The bed was the most comfortable we've ever encountered. I even contacted the hotel when we returned home to inquire about purchasing one for our home. I can not say enough about the Soho Met. Definitely the only place we will ever stay when in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Elegant and understated. Excellent service from the doorman to the front desk to the bellhop. Rooms small but nicely appointed. Recommend junior suites. If frequent guest, they will upgrade you. As a regular for business, once I was given a VIP suite. Very swish! Hemispheres restaurant excellent for continental cuisine. So is La Wah Heen Asian restaurant. Underground valet parking available. Located close to subway and shopping as well as University Ave. courthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The lobby is nice and clean. The staff are very professional and helpful. They have doorman and concierge to assist you with your bags and all of your questions. This is not a five star hotel, but I do believe it is a four star, and it definitely meets this standard. It is above average.

The room: The room has a separate tub and shower, heated bathroom floors, a safe, desk and sitting area, wall art, a separate spacious closet area, electronic do not disturb and curtain button. The housekeeping offered us bottled water each morning, which was nice.

The location: If you don't mind walking just a little the location is decent. We were literally under 10 minutes from the CN tower, which was convenient. Our farthest walk was about 25 minutes, and in a metropolis I think walking is to be expected. Cabs are easy to hail, and the concierge is helpful with suggestions and directions. There is also a corner store across the street where you can grab snacks and drinks before or after going out.

Food: Breakfast at the Senses Restaurant/Cafe was disappointing as they only serve breakfast pastries and not other breakfast options (eggs, toast, pancakes etc). However, you MUST try Cora's, which is just across the street. This food is definitely made to order, frest and of great quality. It was absolutely excellent. The line moves faster than it looks.

Service: Our check in was professional, fast and efficient. Our bags were brought up to our room for us without a request. The doorman opened the doors upon each entrance and exit. They are very professional. I will defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and at least a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a great stay over the long weekend - hotel was fully booked but service was still impeccable. Rooms are spacious and clean, very well appointed with modern decor. Bathrooms are large with high quality toiletries provided and heated marble floors. Self-park option was very convenient and reasonably priced considering the location. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location:
Reasonably central to some points of interest. It’s close to Blue Jays stadium etc. It is a bit of a walk to metro stations. I am not sure what to make of its location. I think the location is a bit more of liability for travelers.

Common Areas:
The lobby is not as nice or impressive as other hotels of this class. Just a few chairs. The gym is rather small. It is shared with the residential condo. In the morning, all the equipment is being used. There are two restaurants-one serving light lunch and breakfast and the other serving dinner and bar. I tried breakfast on one of the days I was there; the service was reasonable.

The Room:
It is large and well furnished with chair and desk. I believe I got a room that is higher than the standard room. The room is very spacious. The walk-in/large closet offers lots of space. There is a safe as well. Bed is comfortable. The room itself is very nice and up to its category. Bathroom is very large with separate shower and bathtub. The floor is heated.

The Service:
The front desk staff were very nice and quick with checking in and out. The concierge was very helpful in securing a dinner reservation, though it was not the restaurant of my first choice. Downturn service is also offered, as well as complimentary water every night. The service is nice, according to my travel experience. I also love the complimentary wifi. In this day and age, any hotels (esp. those that cost and an arm and a leg) that charge for wifi and internet are an absolute annoyance. However, the wifi was rather slow and erratic during one of the days during my stay.

Recommendation:
I would probably recommend, with some reservations. Nothing wrong with the hotel per se, but a little far from metro stations. My first experience with Metropolitan was in Vancouver a few years back. After staying at the Four Seasons in Vancouver for a few days, staying at the Metropolitan was nice and refreshing compared to the old and tired looking FS. I was very impressed at that time with Metropolitan. Somehow, I did not have the some impression with this Metropolitan in Toronto, hence the reservation in my recommendation.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for the first time on Dec. 22 after a night out with friends. Comparable with Hotel Le Germain (which is only a few steps away). Parking entrance was easy to find and self-parking not a problem. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful - we had to wait a while due to a couple that was being fussy about not getting a higher floor room but a second front desk staff come out from the back and handled our request efficiently when it became apparent that that couple was taking their time.

I think we stayed in a Luxury King room (w. soaker tub) but to be honest, I am not sure about the difference between a Delux and a Luxury accommodation (and I tried searching for specifics on the Internet...). The layout of the room suited us well, availability and access to power outlets for our various mobile devices was excellent - many older hotels are really bad with this -, the bathroom was clean and bright. I was quite surprised how quiet it was despite the fact that we were facing south (wellington) and on the third floor. On a saturday! The high speed wifi was also surprisingly fast (as noted by my husband who was using his tablet). The only thing that we noticed that did not seem to work was the outlet in the in-room safe.

Parking with in-and-out privileges was $30 for the day. I did not get chance to try the restaurant or the cafe / bakery but I plan on being back in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Address: 318 Wellington St West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#19 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SoHo Metropolitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.