We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SoHo Metropolitan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SoHo Metropolitan to your Saves list
SoHo Metropolitan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   318 Wellington St West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose this hotel fairly randomly, mainly for its location. It turned out to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The rooms are large and well appointed, there is a decent sized fitness room and pool ( I usually had it to myself) and the bar has an expert cocktail team. Above all the staff are exceptional. They combine friendliness and efficiency in equal measure. The room service is outstanding. The breakfast is advertised at $22 , however, thus coffee shop will happily serve you your choice of filled muffin or granola with coffee for $9. The SoHo is very well placed for exploring Toronto. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Overlooked Blue Jays; not the best view in the world! However, rooms with a view of the CN Tower are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    106
    17
    12
    13
See reviews for
24
209
21
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

SoHo Metropolitan is located right in the heart of the entertainment district offering easy access to local attractions. Our check-in was smooth and we were offered an upgrade to a suite upon arrival. The parking garage is very tight and crowded but not unusual in a city this size. Our room was mediocre- my sister stayed here a few months earlier and her room was updated and modern. Ours looked more like the 90s but it was clean and well appointed. The hotel bar was nice and the drinks were well priced. The breakfast buffet was lacking and I was not overly impressed however it offered something for everyone. We walked all over the city and had no problems finding things to do and places to go. We spent most of our time on Bloor Street which was just about 12 blocks away. There are Tim Horton's and Starbucks very close by (the hotel coffee wasn't anything to brag about). All of the staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay in Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Service is the first thing you get upon arriving at this hotel. We checked in right away. A little pushy in helping with the bags, which we did not need and of course a tip had to follow, but that was understandable as you are in a very high-class hotel. The smart thing was we asked for early check-in. Unfortunately, our accompanying business associates did not and had to wait for over an hour for their room (they flew in and timing was off). The hotel lobby was uncomfortably too warm, however, the room was excellent, very clean, very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the sheets so soft I could have slept forever. They even came in and turned down the bed and left bottled water for the night while we were out. Loved it. Great location, short walk to Chinatown, Kensington Market, or TTC subway. One thing, check your visa when you get home. We were charged for a few drinks from the mini-bar, which we did not use, but after a quick call they credited us immediately no questions asked. Overall an excellent night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Loved this hotel. The room was fantastic, almost suite like with a walk in wardrobe and very fancy bathroom. They had great little features like electric blinds, doorbells, underfloor heating. The wifi wasn't so great. Very slow and sketchy which could be frustrating at times.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite, helped to organise trips, and housekeeping went above and beyond by coming back later on after we'd forgotten to turn off the 'do not disturb' button!
The location was fantastic, near all the main attractions (and main shopping areas). So glad we chose this place to stay.

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to a suite as the basic room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

1 of the best hotels I have stayed at! Location was great, walking distance from all the main attractions. Great breakfast place across the road – bonus! We were a little late to check in but the room was very spacious and luxurious. Service was perfect, staff was attentive, polite and extremely accommodating. We had a great night’s sleep – wish we had stayed for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! When we got there, there was a guest already complaining and the manager was extremely rude to her. It took about 40 minutes for us to check in. Then he gave us a room that had not been cleaned yet! The beds were too low and not comfortable at all.
I will never stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We only had one night at the SoHo Metrolpolitan but loved our spacious room, enormous bathroom with heated floor, very friendly & helpful staff (very efficient check in) and a great bar for drinks after the theatre. This is a small hotel very well located for The Princess Royal and some great restaurants - great food at La Fenice. Will stay again during the annual sojourn to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SoHo Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoHo Metropolitan

Address: 318 Wellington St West, Toronto, Ontario M5V3T4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Business Hotel in Toronto
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SoHo Metropolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SoHo Metropolitan Hotel is simply Toronto's finest, whether you call it a luxury, boutique or design hotel. At once supremely indulgent and artfully subdued, the hotel affectionately dubbed "SoHo Met" is a vibrant scene unto itself. From inspired culinary creations and rejuvenating spa treatments to advanced in-room technologies and innovative business services, a limitless range of sophisticated pleasures awaits you. Whether you are staying for just a weekend or weeks on end, you will quickly realize that one does more than stay at the SoHo Met ... one lives it. The moment you set foot upon the marble floors of the SoHo Metropolitan Hotel in Toronto, you enter a world of exquisite delights and unparalleled convenience, where the hotel's commitment to service and personal attention exceed all expectations. The three story, loft-style penthouse suite and 92 oversized, luxurious guestrooms and suites represent the very epitome of SoHo Metropolitan style. European natural down duvets and triple Italian bed linens grace the luxurious king-size beds. When it's time to say good night, use the smart technology to adjust lighting, motorized draperies and do-not-disturb light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your SoHo Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Metropolitan Toronto
Soho Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SoHo Metropolitan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.