We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hugh's Room

Hugh's Room
2261 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario M6R 1X6, Canada
(416)531-6604
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The entertainment value at Hugh's room is a 6 out of 5 and the food quality and dollar value is definitely a 5 out of 5. It would be hard to find a better venue for singer/songwriters anywhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great music, relax and enjoy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to see Jorge Martinez and the show was energizing and a lot of fun. We were greeted by a very friendly server who put us right at ease. The service got a little spotty after the initial greeting, not enough help for the number of people in the room. I felt sorry for the server he seemed really overworked. The entree I ordered was not what I got. I don't like shrimp and was served a shrimp pasta. However, the fries we ordered to start were very good, we fought over the few left in the bottom of the bowl.

IF you forget the service and focus on the music you will have a great time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent venue with first class musical performances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I keep an eye on Hugh's room calendar of shows because it is the best place in the city to see first class musical acts. They book the best acts in what used to be called folk music. Not the generic stuff. The real stuff. Last night I saw Iris Dement who was amazing, and I have seen other legends there like Ian Tyson, Raul Malo, the Mcgarrigle sisters, etc.
The acoustics are great, and if you are lucky enough to sit near the stage you are so close to the performers that it is like being invited over to their house. It seems that most tables have a reasonable view of the stage.
They serve decent but not exceptional food, but it's nice because you can go and dine, and have a few glasses of wine or whatever before the entertainment begins. Some people eat desert and have a few glasses during the musical sets. The servers are friendly and do their best to keep up but keep in mind that this is not a regular restaurant where people come and go in a steady flow. Everybody gets there about 7 and has to eat their main course before about 8:30 when the acts come on, and I think they have to go downstairs to fetch it and then make their way through a crowded (most nights) room to get to you. So please be patient. They do a decent strip loin steak and fries and mushroom sauce, which is a large serving but not a bargain at about $29. I usually have the muscles and fries for $19 and it's fine. They've got a few other choices; some salads, a simple pasta dish so there's something for everyone. Remember you are not there for the food, but for the entertainment to follow.
The place has a wonderful authentic feeling ambiance. Imagine you are in a really cool jazz club, circa 1960 except that thanks to smoking laws you are not gasping for breath. Things tend to wrap up around 11 so you are not out too late.

If you have an interest in experiencing excellent live music be sure to check out the schedule. Reservations are definitely a good idea, at least for the well known acts. You don't have to eat there, but I noticed that the cover charge last night was $40, so why not avoid this and spend it on some food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
230 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Nice Small Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I always check the various Toronto newspapers concerning the ads for entertainment purposes for Hugh's Room. I was here time for Valdy from B.C. This will known Canadian folk singer gave a solid two hour performance with one short break between sets. It was crowded that night and strongly recommend that you phone ahead of time to make reservations on artists you want to see. Finger food and alcohal is available at reaonable prices. After the show, Valdy talked to members of the audience and personally signed copies lof his various mucical C.D.'s. Parking is available across the street and a grocery store parking lot. Worth checking out!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Fabulous evening with friends! New menu was intriguing and varied. Service superb. Music excellent! A must do dinner 'theatre" with a Thunder Bay connection.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh's Room also viewed

 

Been to Hugh's Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hugh's Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.