We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Chan

House of Chan
876 Eglinton Ave W, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,547 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Toronto
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Always loving the steak, of course we had it again as our main course. This time I've added photos so you can see how great it looks. We started with the baby back ribs which are broiled to perfection.

Tip 1: Order the ribs lean and well done.
Tip 2: No reservations, so come by 6:30pm
Tip 3: Try to sit in the main dining room.
Tip 4: Order the steak or lobster

Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best steak and lobster in T.O.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is pricey, has limited wine list... but you get the best steak and lobster. Period.
I love coming here but its a rare treat.. disguised as a Chinese restaurant in really jewish area of Toronto.. but the beef is to die for. NEVER had a bad meal here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid this expensive awful restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I cannot believe chefs like this place and recommend it. We went on a chef's recommendation.

1. decor is like a doormans fantasy from 1982. No windows, shabby faux leather, red lighting
2. a watery tasteless 'plum sauce' awaited our table with dry dipping noodles of unknown origin.
3. 'chinese' starters were greasy and well below par of any respectable Chinese diner.
4. high quality steak was oiled before broiling and undercooked. rare is not blue, this at a speciality steakhouse.
5. the 'vegetables' that came with the steak were like a nightmare from my school dinners in the UK, boiled grey limp cabbage.
6. It was expensive.
It is obvious from the clientele and from further research that this restaurant caters to a specific bathurst and eglinton crowd who like their meat well done with a crappy lemon chicken on the side. The owners are not chinese. This place is an insult to cuisine and if I were chinese would lobby somewhere to remove any vestige of chinese from the establishment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best steak in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

You might think its all Chinese but no, the steak is outstanding. The potatoes and onion rings to lick your fingers! Great service! not much in the atmosphere department but, you really don't care because the food is so good. Lots of parking on the street or corner lot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Best Steak in Toronto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Although you can order a full Chinese meal here, it's the excellent sirloin steak that brings us back. We love the lobster too, which is fresh from a tank in the restaurant. The staff is excellent, but we love Simon who always makes our visits special.

Dinners come with a big plate of crispy onion strings and potatoes, salad, and cookies for dessert, make sure to try the ribs, well done. Wow...really fantastic.

Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Chan also viewed

 

Been to House of Chan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Chan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.